Lions, Cheetahs & Wildabeasts oh my....


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Ngorongoro Conservation Area
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I made a blurry eyed early morning decision to join some of my new friends for a classic safari in the Ngorongoro Crater. I initially told myself that I wasn't going to do a safari and I would just see the animals on my own, like a true traveler of the 'roads less traveled'- But sometimes you just have to buckle and go for the 'touristy' route. There is a rhyme and reason why people flock to certain areas of this world, and the beautiful blue-green vistas of the crater along with the amazing wildlife is one of those places. If you can learn how to take everything with a grain of salt, you can handle a few extra zinc nosed, safari shirt tourists every once in awhile.
The crater itself is about 20km wide and is one of the largest calderas in the world~ with a lush grassland and permanent water the herds of animals find their way past the massive walls into the oasis. The list of animals that we saw was far beyond what I was expecting, we saw elephants, hippos, cheetahs, lions, wildabeast, buffalo, gazelle, a black rhino, heyenas, zebra and many birds- oh and of course, one of my favorites- the warthog. I don't know what it is about the warthog, I think it is from the character of Pumba on the Lion King, but I LOVED them. There were so many of them with little babies running around with their tails sticking straight up.
The dynamic in the crater was interesting- herds of land cruisers side by side with herds of rare and beautiful animals. You always knew when something worthwhile was coming up- your binoculars would be panning the beautiful landscape when all of a sudden they would run into a circle of cruisers with 'mizungu' (white people) sticking their heads out the roofs snapping pictures like they had some tourist tarets. But of course, we pulled up right beside them- but we enjoyed watching both the animals and the other tourists. Every once in a while we were able to escape the crowds and find our own natural wonders, but for the most part we were along for the ride- and I'll admit I loved it.
The local Maasai also have grazing rights in the crater so they are seen classically adorned with their cattle side by side with the vicious lions and land rovers. It is quite the sight.
I'm eager to continue my travels south in Tanzania to visit some of the less popular reserves and parks, but the Ngorongoro Crater was the perfect introduction into the 'safari side' of things.

Advertisement



8th January 2009

B-E-A utiful
Love the pictures! And we all forgive you for doing a normal tourist thing now and again - you've been good enough so far, you deserved a break :)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb