Home? So Soon?


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Musoma
April 21st 2008
Published: April 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

These past three months have been the most life changing. I have seen God answer prayers before my eyes, seen Him lead me to verses I desperately needed and shown me who I am when I stand firm in His promises. I knew coming to Africa would change me but I never imagined how much. The past week God has given me such a peace in my heart about my future. I have fallen madly in love with my Father, Creator and God. I don't know where I will end up, I don't know where God will lead me and I don't care. As long as I am seeking His face and longing to know Him more, everything will flow from that.

We have been spending the past few weeks visiting the homes of the children and the homes, meeting their families and being with the children in their natural environment has been humbling. These children live in the smallest of homes, some with no windows and most with little to no furniture. While these children have nothing, they are willing to give you everything. Like Scholastica who felt horrible that we did not tell her we were coming so they ate all of their food. They have 5 children living in a house the size of a studio and in a fit of rage, their mother burned all of their belongings. They miss school and church to sell vegetables on the streets to feed their family and yet she was sad that she hadn't saved any food for us. Or Maria's grandma that sells peanuts for a Tshs 600/= profit per each kilo (that's about .60 cents USD), and still wanted to give us 6 packets when we left. That was half of her profits. I of course refused to take without paying for them and even gave her extra money.

Yesterday we went to visit Sarafina's house and while I sat with her mother, I had to look out the window to hide the fact that I wanted to cry. Her mother has 6 children, all from different men and in 2000, found out she was HIV positive. Sophia, Sarafina and her youngest are positive as well. She is not sure about the others because they haven't been tested but I know Abel is for sure since he was born after Sophia. Their mother weeps at night because when she dies, her kids will have no where to go.

I have 3 more days left in Musoma before heading home and it has taken all of my strength to keep up a strong appearance. Sunday I was given a going away dinner and the family had a traditional dress made for me as a surprise and the Mama painted me a picture of a Giraffe. I was so moved by how much thought they put into my dress and painting and all was a surprise. Tonight, my family is putting on a going away dinner and they have purchased a chicken (HUGE honor) and will be making beef as well.

I will miss this place, these people and the love I have seen flow from my heart. God has done amazing things in front of my eyes and in my heart. I am so thankful for this experience and look forward to where I will go from here!

Advertisement



23rd April 2008

so soon
Yes, 3 days is soon. strange to think that you can even make it across the world and across so many language/cultural/international barriers in so short a time. can't wait to see you and I hope we can help make the reverse culture shock a little less shocking. he's got the whole world..in his hands...he's got the whole wide world..in his hands...
23rd April 2008

God Speed
Bree: I just received you letter Monday (today is Wednesday). You fill me with so much joy to see how God is working in you. You are in my thoughts and prayers and I pray for your safe journey home! I have enjoyed all your letters and feel blessed to have you in my life. I look forward to hearing your voice when you return. Be safe, be healthy, be proud of the person you have become! Love mom "In Thy presesence is fulness of joy; at Thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore" PSALM 16:11

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb