My computer works now!!! picture time!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Musoma
April 9th 2008
Published: April 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ArtArtArt

Every day during class, Stacy has her students draw something. The drawing on the left is a picture of a "gari" (car) and the drawing on the right is a drawing of "wazungu" (white people).
Here is another update with some photos!!! Enjoy!

It is honestly getting down to my last days here and I am feeling it. I am torn between the life I have become to love and the world I have grown up in. There are things I love and hate about both. I am feeling nervous and anxious about going back home. I won't have a home so I will be staying with friends and although I am thankful to have friends, I will long to feel at home. Also, the reverse culture shock will have me strong. I can already and see and feel how it will be once going home. I am also nervous about my life going back to the normal 9-5 and leaving behind my ministry here. I have spent the past 3 months loving children and helping to encourage a ministry here and then when I get home, I will be living a normal life, paying bills.

I have felt a strong pull towards missions and wonder if it is only because I am on the missions field or if God is bringing me to this point to teach me to get onto the field.
BeautifulBeautifulBeautiful

On our way to visit some friends, this young boy on the street directed us to the right place. The next day we ran into him again and he sat within this tire the whole time.
I don't want to get home and loose that feeling or forget that my heart longs to speak the gospel to un-reached people. I finished The Heavenly Man and at the end he speaks of the Back to Jerusalem ministry and I have spent hard prayer over if this is where the Lord is leading me. To speak to people who have never heard.

A month ago I tried introducing myself to my neighbors and although I could say my name and ask how they were, I couldn't do any farther. I felt really discouraged about my language barriers and desperately wanting to invite them to church with me. I have continued to pray for them but have not been able to speak with them since. Two days ago I was coming home and they called for me to come over. They had a man with them that could speak pretty good English and he translated for me. The women asked if they could attend church with me this Sunday. I agreed and said I would stop by on Sunday morning at 9 am. As I was leaving, they asked if I could get them Bibles since they have
SmileSmileSmile

Sarafina is one of the children that the ministry sponsors and she is the sweetest thing. She loves to be held and is so young (maybe 5 or 6). She sadly has HIV and isn't expected to survive past 16.
never had one before. I was so blessed to know that God has worked within them without me even saying anything.

I spoke with the director and we have discussed when we will tell Dori that I am sponsoring her. I have $25 on me (which is a direct answer from God since I have no idea where that money came from and is the exact amount that I will pay monthly to support her) and we are going to exchange it into shillings. This friday we will take her shopping with that money since she does not have shoes nor sheets for her bed. While shopping, we will tell her that I will be her sponsor and she will be able to attend school next year. I am very excited to take her out and tell her that I am sponsoring her because I love her and long for her to be taken care of.

I am only two weeks away from coming home!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

ConfusedConfused
Confused

Nester was not sure how exactly a camera worked and I got this super amazing photo of him squinting into the lens.
MonkeysMonkeys
Monkeys

We were taken on a Safari through the Serengeti and as we purchased our tickets, these little monkeys came out to see if we had any bananas.
ZebrasZebras
Zebras

We saw tons of Zebras but they were always on the left side of the car and I was on the right. I prayed that God would give me some Zebras on my side and thank God!! They are more amazing in the wild!
TwigaTwiga
Twiga

Twiga (giraffes) weren't out much on the day we went but we were able to pull up pretty close to a few of them. Their necks weren't as long as we thought they would be but they are amazingly beautiful animals!
elephantselephants
elephants

Stacy really wanted to see elephants and I prayed all day for her to see them. And we were lucky to be only feet away from some elephants!!! They are such humble creatures!!!
SchoolSchool
School

As I walked home one day, I heard a small group of children saying their vowels. I looked over and there was an impromptu class room on the side of the house on my street. They older kid had taped the vowels up on a piece of cardboard and was teaching the smaller ones.
StickersStickers
Stickers

In my package, my friends wrote me letters. One of my dear friends, Marisa sent me stickers for the children. They were over joyed to receive stickers.
<3<3
<3

Catherine made a surprise heart with her hands. I didn't even ask her to do it!!
DoriDori
Dori

This is a sweet picture of me and Dori, the girl I sponsor. Just thinking of her makes me cry. I love her to death!
Rehema and HapiRehema and Hapi
Rehema and Hapi

These are my sweet neighbor children. Rehema (on the left) has a very sassy attitude and Hapi (on the right) is more laid back.
RainbowRainbow
Rainbow

The sign of the covenant from God that he will never destroy the earth in a flood ever again.
The most amazing cloudsThe most amazing clouds
The most amazing clouds

Africa has the BEST clouds! I am amazed every day when I look up and see beautiful clouds in the sky!!! Likes these ones!
NaomiNaomi
Naomi

I am not sure where we were walking to but Noami held Stacy's hand and I was able to capture this picture when she turned to say something. She is a little drama queen but I love her still.
My pumpkinsMy pumpkins
My pumpkins

This is my sweet Sophia and Sarafina. Both children live with HIV and are sponsored by the ministry I work for. Sophia is very ticklish and loves to cuddle during the lessons.
SamuelSamuel
Samuel

I can not use enough words to explain Samuel. He is such an amazing boy with a heart of gold. He's one of the older sponsored children and my team mates and I absolutely adore him.
Sarafina againSarafina again
Sarafina again

I had to upload another photo of Sarafina because she holds my heart.
ProtasProtas
Protas

Protas is a little spunky child and loves to make you laugh. He doesn't even have to try. Look at his sweet, sweet face!!!
most amazing smilemost amazing smile
most amazing smile

Kudwa is an orphan living with HIV. She has the most amazing laugh and heart. She loves to be carried on your back and laugh with all of her being. This picture explains everything about this small child.
hardest picture everhardest picture ever
hardest picture ever

Rose does not like her picture taken although I swear she is the most people girl in the whole world. I took a series of about 10 pictures to get this one good one of her.
Sisi ni mikono ya Yesu!Sisi ni mikono ya Yesu!
Sisi ni mikono ya Yesu!

On our last day of VBS, we had the children dip their hands in paint and then put them onto paper that said "Sisi ni mikono ya Yesu!" (We are the hands of Jesus).


13th April 2008

I've been following your trip...
and I can't get over what an amazing adventure you're having. I'm really sorry to hear you have Malaria, I hope it doesn't dramatically effect you in the future. I don't even have words to describe how incredible your story is, Sabrina. The children are adorable.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb