Africa Africa Africa


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Musoma
February 4th 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

WE ARE HERE!!! My team mates and I have made it to our destination with all of our luggage!! We did get searched EVERYTIME we went through security....but we made it!

We are now in our host families and loving every minute of it!! We are beginning to learn swahili and the girls think I am doing amazingly well. 😊 My host family knows very little English but I am slowly learning. Last night we had a Swahili / English lesson. They love that I am learning so quickly. I can tell you most of the face in Swahili (eye, nose, chin....).

I LOVE it here! It's beautiful and everyone is so sweet! To be a guest is a high importance and everyone will bend over backwards to make sure you are comfortable. They even warm my bath water for me!

It is very different as the toilets are squaties..meaning they are a hole over the ground and you squat to go to the bathroom. My team mates had to get a demonstration which was funny! 😊 Let me say this, it is easier to "drop the kids off" if you know what I mean on these toilets.

Our showers consist of water in a bucket....which is not bad at my place since they heat water over the charcoal for me. The food is AMAZING!! and I will probably gain weight since they refuse to allow me to stop eating.....kidogo is what they say and put more food on my plate....kidogo means small / little.

We are enjoying ourselves but it comes with some complications. I am living seperate than my team mates which means I get little interaction in English. We haven't gotten sick yet!!! Thank the Lord but we are always scared of it!

We are leaving early next week for Zanzibar (Indian Ocean here we come!) for language lessons and it will be a good time to spend quality time and learn Swahili!!!!!

Lunch is ready so I need to go!! LOVE you guys and MISS you!!!!! The internet is so-so and not always working so it might be some time!!

thank you so much for all of the encouragement!!! Lousia, I wrote yours down for the hard days! Thank you!

Advertisement



4th February 2008

Congrats!
Hey! Wow! Congrats on making it to Africa! This is so exciting. I was cracking up when I read the part about the squaties! You are soo funny! Can't wait to hear more. Praying for ya! luv, Lindsey
4th February 2008

God Bless
So, good to hear that you made it. It's really great that you're doing the will of God. You're in my prayers. God Bless Ty
4th February 2008

Awesome!!
Sabrina, That sounds so amazing... I'm really happy for you, what a tremendous experience. Dropping the kids off??? hahah you can be a little more descriptive about surroundings than that... tell me about what you're seeing, where you're living, the surrounding country and people.... I miss your smile Many Blessings, ~Peter
5th February 2008

Excited for you!
Sabrina: I just spent the last few minutes reading all your blogs. I don't know how I missed them in my email, but the last one was there today! I am so excited for you and I can sense your excitement and just the sweet loving spirit the Lord gave you, by your letters. I know the Lord will use you in such an amazing way with everyone you meet. The kids will be blessed, as well as you, as each day goes by. Remember that the Lord is with you every single step of the way! He's the one who sent you so of course he's going to use you! (hhhmmm, I wonder if you're really going to come back....I think you're already in love with the place!) Keep your eyes on the Lord and God bless your every step. *Diane*
5th February 2008

yay!
YAAAAAAAY *muppet hands*

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb