Getting ready for the mountain


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So our days of building have come to an end. We left our village of Mvae last Friday and met up again with all the volunteers from the other camp and new volunteers who had just arrived in from Dar es Salaam. Had a fantastic night catching up with everyone before we all went our separate ways, even managed to make it to a night club which was basically a big barn with ALOT of strobe lighting! Great night had by everyone, though we were all a little tired on Saturday, our last day in Singida. It was very strange saying goodbye to people with whom we had lived in such close quarters for a month.

Sunday morning at 5am we hauled ourselves to the bus station to take the most insane bus journey of my life. The bus was packed with people sitting everywhere, the aisle, the dashboard, even at one point someone hanging off the side! The journey took 8 hours, heading North to Arusha, most of which was on a dirt track studded with rocks...very sore asses all around when we arrived in Arusha. From there Suz and I hopped on a local bus (dala-dala) to Moshi stopped for some food, then caught another dala-dala to Marangu where our hotel is located.

After three weeks spent in a field with no water or electricity, evberything is a luxury and we're still in shock at the hotel! However we don't have much time to get used to it as tomorrow moriwe head up for a 6 day climb up Kilimanjaro, during which time we will be camping...mountain looks graet but very big!! running out of time so wish us luck!!

Advertisement



25th June 2007

I'm going to Mvae on July 23rd!
Hey, I'm heading to Mvae on July 23rd with volunteer afrcia. Sounds like I'll be working on the dispensory that you just left! Any tips for me on what to bring, things I might not think of? I'm also planning on climbing Kili when I finish. If you get this comment, let me know how it went! I am SO excited, only 23 more days!!! My email is: kellychristie24@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb