starting to get sad!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East
November 26th 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Cant believe that I will soon be thinking about coming home, Yamba has very easily and quickly become my home and I will really miss it. Had another good week at school this week. The exams are done so had time to play lots of games and do nice art activities with the kids. I have also been out and about a lot trying to see as much of the area as I can, the views keep getting better as everything is really green - also a lot more creepy crawlies around now too.
We have been having little camp fires at night as the stars have been fantastic, last night saw jupiter, andromedea and as usual the milky way was spectacular. it was the clearest night yet with loads of shooting stars.
The rats have returned to my room and they ate my headphones yesterday!

Have started to think about all the things I will miss -
- the scenery and the way the view of the mountains constantly changes with the light
- sunsets and starry nights
- the constant background noise of birds, monkeys, crickets and frogs
- teaching at the school
- the pupils singing the 'goodbye teacher' song at the end of each lesson
- being followed everywhere by hoards of kids
- hearing the shouts of 'hello teacher katie' from way up in the mountains and not knowing where the voices are coming from.
- the other volunteers especially linda and andy
- all my new friends especially hilda, stella, judy, shabani, adam and juma
- all the little presents of eggs, mangos and beans that the villagers give
- visiting peoples home and helping them shell beans or pound maize
- Simoni, Stanley, Joseph and Francis, my constant little companions and chief bag carriers

I am going to miss everyone in the village, they are the kindest and friendliest people I have ever met. Despite everything they have to cope with they are so warm and generous and it has been a real privelege to beable to be here.

These are things that I shouldn't really miss but think i will!!
- venturing out to the long drop toilet at night not knowing what is lurking in there.
- a bucket of river water a day for my shower
- rice , beans and lentils
- being constantly covered in snot, dribble and wee from the kids!
- all the little errors in communication with me trying to speak swahili
- always checking for jiggers (parasites in your feet) and hook worms

I am going to make sure I make the most of every minute left and take even more photos that I can bore you all with when I get back !


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb