Kwa Heri Tanzania, Hola Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Valladolid
December 13th 2010
Published: December 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have finally left Yamba, don’t think I have ever cried as much! The whole of the last week was lovely, people just turning up at the door to say goodbye and bringing me little presents of an egg or a mango, one boy Jeremiah even brought me a Guinea Fowl. The school held a huge party for us with choirs, a band (with homemade guitar and amplifier!) dancing and so many speeches. Francis, the head boy at the school read out a letter from all the kids thanking me and Linda, we were both crying in no time! We couldn’t believe how much effort had gone into the party, the children had decorated the school with garlands of flowers and they had written songs and even a rap for us. It was touching that so many people had turned up and some had walked a really long way to get to the school. Have never shaken so many hands or said so many thank yous. The last walk down the mountain was also very sad, tried to take in as much of the view as possible and it was very difficult saying bye to the kids.

I am already missing it; I don’t think I will ever quite believe how amazing the people in Yamba are. All the time I was there I never saw anybody without a smile on their face, every single person I met would greet me and invite me into their home, the kids never seemed to whine and whinge and even the babies didn’t really cry. No one ever complained or was grumpy and everyone really looked after each other. Is so hard to believe considering what they have to deal with everyday. They have absolutely nothing and live in one of the remotest places possible, I feel I have learnt a huge amount from them that hopefully I will bring home with me.

I am going to miss the children more than anything, especially my Standard 1 and Standard 3 classes, I have loved teaching them. Teaching English has been great and I could bore you all silly now explaining all the seven different tenses!
I think it is going to be hard getting back to ‘normal life’ I have had no electricity, running water, TV, radio, chocolate, wine or CHEESE! and having a bath will be such a treat. Thank you to everyone who has sent me messages, letters and parcels as they have really helped me not miss home!

Am writing this from Mexico so have travelled nearly half way round the world, Mum and Dad were going to come and meet me in Tanzania for a holiday on Zanzibar but because of my Visa problems and also very expensive flights we had to scrap those plans. So we have ended up in Mexico, we tried to find somewhere none of us have ever been before and more importantly somewhere warm. My last few days in Dar es Salaam were so hot, easily over 100 degrees . Dad managed to find us a bargain deal so here we are, so I am back in the sunshine and very happy for it! I had about 24 hours in the UK and it was so cold, I also realised how much I have missed! What’s all this about royal weddings, wiki leaks and the terrible weather, I have missed the whole of X factor too for which I am quite grateful! Is actually quite nice being completely oblivious to some things.

I feel completely out of touch with everything. Was nice to quickly see my Nan, the dogs, have a cuddle with Oscar and eat some toast but I was ready to get on a plane again! So in Mexico and we have been pottering about on local buses visiting ruins and snorkelling with turtles. Is nice spending time with mum and dad showing them my photos and telling them tales of Africa. Keep mixing up my English, Spanish and Swahili is very confusing! Am finally home for good on the 24th so just in time for Christmas. Hope everyone has a lovely Christmas and will see you all soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb