Habitat for Humanity Day 5


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape
November 24th 2007
Published: November 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The teamThe teamThe team

On top of the roof after we finished it
Day 5 of habitat house 1 was crazy, we had to catch up all of the time missed due to the wheather, first we had to do the roof which was so much fun. We were hammering in planks while balancing on beams, we got to work with really nice community members/builders and broke a habitat record by finishing and entire roof before lunch. this was probably the most dangerous day of the build but luckly nothing went wrong, so of the volunteers where very scared of hights though. After lunch we then did the internal walls but I had to leave early again for work.

Today we had to go through to the community hall in order to have a last bit of training, and to find out if we were crew leaders or not for next week. i was told I am which is really nice but also soooo scary. I have to lead teams of high level corporate employees through the building of a house which they have sponsored. Major responsibility !!. I dont feel like i have enough experience but the project leaders seem to think we can do it so I will give it a
Will, Sarah and IWill, Sarah and IWill, Sarah and I

during the buiding of the roof
good shot. I went to my site (which is super small and sqished) and met Vuyelow the homeowner who lucky for me is very friendly and one of the few who can speak english (which helps as I can speak very broken zulu, in response to their Xhosa). My builder, Pesto, can't speak english though which should be interesting. Tomorrow I will spend the day on Clifton beach learning my manul and then meet all my friends at La Med (the best bar in SA, in my opinion), wow I will miss this all when I leave for england, I abosutely love Cape Town. I had my last shift at work today after 2.5 years of waitressing part time at Jakes, and I sobbed all the home after saying goodbye.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb