You fit through where and rode what??!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Oudtshoorn
October 21st 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

The HeadsThe HeadsThe Heads

I think this is like Cassidy's two moon lunar effect.. these cliffs were supposed to be Heads... I didnt see heads then and I still dont see heads now... Oh well, it was pretty
We left Tsitikama and headed off to Karoo. The drive wasn't so bad as we stopped at The Heads, two cliffs that come together to form a small bay. Supposedly these cliffs look like two heads facing each other, I tired my best to see these heads, but only came up with two cliffs. I took some pictures hoping that they would look like heads when I saw them again, but still I only see two cliffs.... Oh well, the area around the cliffs was beautiful with some great tidal pools and crashing waves.

From the heads we drove to the Kango Caves where we were to do a one hour tour of the 3 main caves. Our guide obviously didn't listen to the instructions from Cassidy and took us on the whole tour that involved caving through some very tight places.

The caves were absolutely spectacular! The first main cave is huge and gorgeous. Once a year there was an orchestra that would come and host a performance in the cave as the acoustics are brilliant and the ambience couldn't be better!

The passageways into the next caves became a bit more tight. The first squeeze was
Cliff Hanger!Cliff Hanger!Cliff Hanger!

Ooops! We almost lost Marnu!
a very narrow passage where you had to half bend over and walk kind of sideways to get through to the cave. From there we had to climb some stairs to get to the really hard stuff.

We arrived at the devils chimney where it is about 38 cm wide, if memory serves me right. It is a vertical tube you have to shimmy up and then do a hairpin drop to the exit. I managed to make it up the chimney, but wasn't sure how to handle the hairpin, but with some ingenious twisting I made it over and on to the mail slot.

The mail slot is a very short access to the next cave. You have to slither through on your belly and use only your elbows to pull you along, kind of like how the army crawls through mud. The mail slot is only 27 cm in height, once you slither through to the tiny opening it drops about 3 feet down to the cave. The only way to get through the opening is to wiggle your way around to go out feet first. It was a very neat experience! I would so do
SpraySpraySpray

there was a really neat crevice in the rock. When the waves came in, the spray shot SUPER high!
it again!

After managing to make it through and out of the Kango Caves we were off to Karoo to check out an Ostrich farm. We got to check out the incubation room with the newly hatched ostriches and were able to hold a baby ostrich! SO CUTE! I was fascinated by their feet. The skin on their legs was so soft and neat to touch. From the incubation room we were taken to feed an adult Ostrich- now that is a different experience!

We were then shown the Ostrich houses and taken to the Ostrich Riding Pen. Yes, you heard me right- OSTRICH RIDING PEN! Here we were able to sit on an Ostrich and have our picture taken and then those that were within the right weight were allowed to go for an Ostrich ride. Guess who rode an Ostrich??? Yup, I did! This was one experience I was not going to miss out on!

First the handlers grab an Ostrich and place a blind over their head to keep them calm. They place the Ostrich into a triangular holding pen where I get on the Ostrich. They lift the Ostrich wings, I climb on
What hat? I dont see a hat?What hat? I dont see a hat?What hat? I dont see a hat?

I swear Cassidy, your hat blew into the sea- ask anyone, it did right? *Erin nods head while asking unsuspecting fellow travelers, who are kind enough to agree* :)
the back of the Ostrich, placing my legs under the wings and then holding on to the wings for dear life. Then they remove the blind, push the Ostrich out of the pen and off I go! The handlers run behind me to help me get off the Ostrich, which you do in mid-run. The handlers come up and grab my arms and pretty much pull me off the back of the Ostrich. It was awesome!!!!

I would definitely say that is one of the highlights of the activities I have done on this trip!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

CavingCaving
Caving

Me the miner
Just for short peopleJust for short people
Just for short people

I know a few friends who would be able to stand in here... Ahem- Cookie!...
Can I keep it Mom?Can I keep it Mom?
Can I keep it Mom?

I swear it followed me home.
Up you get!Up you get!
Up you get!

Attempting to mount an Ostrich... Man that sounds wrong!
Look mom!Look mom!
Look mom!

Mom would be so proud!
Out of the shootOut of the shoot
Out of the shoot

And they release the ostrich
Off you go!Off you go!
Off you go!

The jockey's thought I had ridden long enough. I made my 5 seconds!
Safe LandingSafe Landing
Safe Landing

Made it off the Ostrich in one piece! I would SO do that again!
Thank you, Thank you very much!Thank you, Thank you very much!
Thank you, Thank you very much!

Yeah baby! *Props to Pete*


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb