Light Spirits and Good Mexican Food


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 27th 2006
Published: August 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This weekend I caught a ride into Cape Town with a few classmates. From Stellenbosch, a short thirty minute drive along the N2 (and in our case, a couple unintended detours) will usher you directly into the heart of this modern port city. Towering buildings, restaurants, pawn shops, cathedrals, and apartment complexes crowed around the foot of Table Mountain, threatening further encroachment up the stone fortress.

Each of us four girls played a key role in making the day a success. Kenya manned the steering wheel. With only the occasional stall, peel-out, and missed turn, she was for all intents and purposes, a successful chauffeur. Erin was the focused navigator in the passenger’s seat who directed the way and kept us on schedule all day. Liz, the theater major from New Orleans served as the upbeat, adventurous spirit whose ambition for Mexican food would prove exceptionally helpful around lunch time. As for me, I was Liz’s side-kick from the getgo: I slept in and Liz was the one who made Kenya come pick me up even though Erin protested because she didn’t want to be late for confession (the Catholic Church was our first stop)—from then on I was Liz’s
Erin the NavagatorErin the NavagatorErin the Navagator

Without this chick we would have made ten wrong turns instead of seven...
ally, agreeably going along with any idea she had (because they all sounded fun to me). For example, at lunch she suggested that we get the “jug” of margarita to split between the two of us, and I, of course, did what all good side-kicks do, and downed three glasses. Oh, and I laughed at her jokes all day long…

After hitting up the amazing Mexican restaurant off Long Street, Liz convinced Erin that we still had time to drive through Hout Bay. On our way there we ran into Camps Bay, and well, we weren’t about to pass that up. Stepping out of the car, I couldn’t stop smiling—we were surrounded by beauty. Table Mountain held back the waves, with just enough room in between to pave a road and line it with cafés along one side palm trees along the other…

We walked in the sand and took it all in, but with the sun going down and Erin consulting her watch, our moment on the beach was short but sweet. Camps Bay, I’ll see you again soon…



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My Mexican FantasyMy Mexican Fantasy
My Mexican Fantasy

Crazy Liz and peel-out Kenya.
Bottoms Up!Bottoms Up!
Bottoms Up!

This one speaks for itself


27th August 2006

Finally, I get to see some of the cool folks that you're hanging out with. Have you been to your garden lately? Have you spoken with Colin recently? You know the whole wheelchair thing is just for attention..... Mexican food, sounds delicious.. I sure do miss Mexican food.
28th August 2006

What a Blast !
Well it looked like a perfect day to get with a few buds and play hard. You certainly look happy and healthy with your big grin and rosey cheeks or is that the margaritas shining through. No matter, its just good to see your beautiful smile and to know that you are having fun. Missing you tons-Mom
28th August 2006

Sarah! Your pictures are beautiful and it sounds like you're having an amazing time down there. Holy cow! you get mexican food?!? You are obviously hanging around quality people :). South Africa looks absolutely beautiful and so different from Ghana (duh). Keep blogging--I'm eating them up! I love you and miss you so much!! (is there going to be enough time to catch up when you get back? :) )
28th August 2006

why wasn't I invited?!
Sarah, i am glad you are making new friends with out me and all, and i know we have a few thousand miles of distance between us, but it wouldn't hurt to still send me an invitation every now and then. The Mexican joint looked amazing, and tha margaritas...BTW you look like you are too young to drink in that picture. I mean like 12. I like how your hair is growing out, it looks pretty hot! Well! Keep me updated love!
1st September 2006

Ok, you know, The Secret Garden.. children´s book, one main character, Colin, is that kid who just lies in bed all the time, until the little girl discovers him and then teaches him how to walk? Little jerk could have been walking the whole time, but no, he had a hump on his back. Gah.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb