The Weekend


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 12th 2013
Published: May 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Did you miss us last night?? Sorry to keep anybody hanging, but we wanted to throw a little suspense into your blog-reading adventure. Well, let me fill you in on today and yesterday….

YESTERDAY (Saturday) had 3 key points if I had to narrow it down. First of which was the trip out to Robben Island - the island that Nelson Mandela was imprisoned for 18 years. We took a 45 min boat ride out to the island, had a bus tour around the island, and then finished with a tour of the prison by a former prisoner…this freaked me out a bit at first but I quickly remembered that it was a former ‘political’ prisoner. The boat ride was pretty cool too because we got to spend a little time on the water (it was such a beautiful day) and see some sea lions playing.

The second key point was Josh and I signed up for Sunday’s “Jive” 21.1K and 10K races that benefited Jive Children's hospital. Saturday ended with an Ethiopian cuisine experience where Josh and I indulged in a wide array of Ethiopian dishes including: prawns, lamb, chicken, some bean type stuff, and more! Most fun was the coffee and popcorn that came with burning frankincense – very calming. Well, it was supposed to be, but the caffeine from the coffee (that I never drink) had me bouncing off the walls.

Ok, today. Josh ran a half-marathon and I ran a 10k this morning. We asked for a 6am wake-up call but didn’t get the call until 6:45, so when realizing it was a mere 15 minutes to the start time – we were in a bit of a rush. The race was great fun. We ran, I mean walked, up the biggest hill I’ve ever experienced on a course and saw a lot of Cape Town that we hadn’t before. I took it pretty easy, which allowed me to carry my camera around to get some great pics!

Furthermore…we rented a car. A manual car that neither Josh nor I had much experience driving, much less it being a right-hand driving vehicle. We drove this little car down to The Cape of Good Hope – the most south-western point in Africa. I will emphasize that “we drove” because even though I drove the whole way, Josh’s friendly reminders to switch gears, get out of the right lane, and release the e-brake before starting cannot go unnoticed. We were hoping to see baboons there but had to settle for the breath-taking views of the ocean and wild Ostriches – so we won’t complain …did I mention we totally went cross country in a standard car on the WRONG, excuse me, the left***, side of the road in AFRICA?!?! It was crazy!!

Ok, sorry for the book. I get excited…Safari tomorrow!



-Brady

PS HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY, MOM!!!!!!!!!!!!! We love you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb