Day 2: Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 13th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a day. The weather was truly perfect. About 26 degrees, not a cloud in the sky and a slight breeze. I didnt have anything planned for the day so on suggestion by Wayne, the Amber Tree Lodge manager, I took a walk down Long St. and then to the V&A Waterfront. Long St. is pretty similar to Brunswick St. in that it is a street filled with bars, restaurants and cafes. Once I arrived to the V&A Waterfront I was confronted by a statue that I had been told to look out for; a giant man made out of empty Coca-Cola crates. It wa actually really well done and surprisingly detailed. I took a wander around the Waterfront, and it is similar to Navy Pier in Chicago and the Pier district in San Francisco. It is really touristy with vendors everywhere trying to sell you boat/helicopter/whatever tours. I wandered through the mall but it was pretty upper class with shops like Gucci and Burberry, so definitely not for me. I decided to eat some fish and chips for lunch, although I substituted chips for onion rings since "I dont eat chups!". The onion rings were amazing and the fish (snoek) was good, although full of bones. Capped off with a Castle Lager, it was a decent lunch.

The walk back from the Waterfront was a bit longer than the walk there just because I was overly full from the lunch. On the way home I stopped on St. George st. for an iced coffee which was amazing. It was nice to just chill for a bit and watch the world go by. When I arrived back at the lodge I headed up to the balcony to kick back and mess around with my new camera (I cant upload the photos from that though). I had a Savanna Cider, but it was dead set horrible and will never touch it again.

For the rest of the night I intend to just relax and get ready for my Stellenbosch wine tour tomorrow.



For some reason I can't upload photos from this computer, but a couple are up on facebook.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.843s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.8166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb