Day 1: Melbourne - Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 13th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well that was really the day from hell. It all started at 4am Sunday when I headed for Melbourne airport. I had a 6am flight to Sydney, where I would then catch a 14hr flight to Johannesburg. That 14 hour flight was a killer. It was so hard to sleep, especialy because we were travelling with the daylight the whole way. Added to that I had a big South African bloke next to me who had to constantly get up to stretch, and he spoke to himself. I kept myself busy by watching Dark Shadows and The Avengers, other than that I just tried to sleep and listen to music.

When I arrived in Johannesburg it was a mad rush to try and get to my flight to Cape Town because my flight to Johannesburg was delayed. I had he assistance of a porter, which I knew would cost me, but he skipped the bag check in line for me and just got my boarding pass with no waiting. I was very thankful for his help, but when it came to tip him, he asked for 100USD! I don't know if that's what they always ask for, but I told him I wasn't an idiot and would not pay him that much. I setled on 5USD, because that was the smallest denomination I had. He still seemed happy, so it was probably still too much, but I had no time to change money so that was fine by me.

My flight to Johannesburg was really good. I spent the 2 hours chatting to a young African guy who had never flown before and was going to Cape Town to start work training. We just chatted about random stuff for the two hours, which really made the time go by. When I arrived in Cape Town my driver was waiting for me, and believe it or not, I was driven to the hostel in a Mercedes! The driver was nice, pointing out different sights in the city as we drove. Once I got to the hostel, I was given a quick show around then had a drink with my room mates while watching the Olympics closing ceremony, then I crashed, totally stuffed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb