Cape Town - Somewhere I'd love to die in


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 15th 2010
Published: November 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Right before I came to South Africa, as this country is full thieves, knifes, murdering, and I was told it's one of the most dangerous places in the world and if it could be, just avoided. If I had listened to these advices, I think I never would have chance to discover the most safest cities in the African continent. In any case, like anywhere in the Asia, I just need to be more aware of my surroundings when I am alone but I didn't find South Africa to be a big bad city.

So this time I am in Cape Town - Surely one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, and it is truly a breathtaking place.

Flying to South Africa is quite straight forward one, I took a late evening Cathay Pacific flight to Jo'Burg and another early flight from Jo'Burg to Cape Town on South African Airways brandnew 737-800. Very nice full service airline considering this is only a domestic flight and that gives you spacious legroom, serves full hot nbreakfast and coffee, and unnecessary attention as I was the only Asian on the flight.

My flight landed in CPT Airport on time at 10 am and my first impression of South Africa is - Australia. The airport is 15km, about 45 minutes from the city, and I saw the Table Mountain on the way to the city but I can't see the mountain top because it was covered with clouds, and I checked in to Cape Town Backpacker Hostel, which I booked earlier for just 105 Rand a night with very clean shared room and shared bathroom, and the best part was the smoking balcony with cloudy table mountain view plus free wifi for my iPhone.

On my first full day in Cape Town and if your a tourist, that means go up Table Mountain right? I have met several people in my hostel who have spent 3, 4 or 5 days in Cape Town and never got up Table Mountain because its either too windy or too cloudy and the cable car up is closed and I was one of the unlucky one, what a spoiler.

So I spent the rest of the day at V&A Waterfront in CBD, where I had excellent seafoods, cream chowder and famous Namibian Oysters.

On the second day, I woke up at 6 am and met several backpackers from Munich, Hamburg, Los Angeles, and New York and joined them for Cape of Good Hope - Where The two ocean meet.

On the way to Cape of Good Hope, we passed by some of the beautiful and cosy seaside town, Santa Babara alike near False Bay and Hout Bay. Hout Bay is a small fishing village but the harbour also houses many touring boats (60 Rands, 40 minutes) that do trips to Duiker Island, which has been colonised by Cape fur seals from the Atlantic.

We then travelled through Simon's Town to see Namibian Penguins and then on the way to Cape Peninsula National Park. Shortly after entering the National Park, we stopped and rent our bikes and had a 7 km cycle to a unknown visitor centre where we had our lunch. After lunch we were head to Cape of Good Hope, only 2 km away.

Before I came to South Africa, I thought Cape of Good Hope is the southern most point on the planet but then I had realized is only the southern most point of African Continent and where the Atlantic and Indian Oceans meet.

The sight was spectacular and absolutly stunning, seeing two huge bodies of water meeting at a point right infront of me and The Cape of Good Hope is something I read about in history books but never did I think that I would ever get to visit it and see in person. Surely I will come back one day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb