soil like blood and other stories...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » North West
January 25th 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Golden fields, pressed against patches of green and amber- the blue sky that fades into the earth and the bright sun reminds me that I am alive. The dirt, the soil is where we started- it is in my blood, your blood- i pick up and squeeze a fistful and I feel truly free. I have left behind the green rolling hills of Natal and am falling in love with the bushveld. The endless mountains that carry on in the distance and touch the ivory clouds , holding close the sun itself! Listen, how else can I say it- this is Africa, this is the bush and the spirit of the wild and all of us... yes I miss you, all of you but , oh!! I feel so alive and the rhythm of the drum, the languages colliding and creating the energy, mix and differences which unfold the beauty of it all. I love the land, I love the people, the music and the call of the birds above.Ek is bie lekker.

Have been cooking huge amounts for all the guests- interesting- fun and intense- curries, potjiekos, potbread, and what what- waiting the bar, dont know what i am doing but i just try to remember what JJ did, a great bartender back home- but I am slow, eh.... but they wait and people are patient especially when they are drinking- except the ones that are the exact opposite and the dogs seem to know them as well , as they bark constantly when a negative person is around, there are so many dogs, dogs everywhere but I like them and it is a type of family really, an extended one, very helpful guys and gals these dogs but yes they beg eh, but there are always plenty of bones and what what...Rustenburg, my new home. I do miss you Natal, and all my friends there...and Texas, my original love and those people that define my everything- yet a freedom I know only here fills me with sparks in the night that light up the sky like the stars over hills...

although I am not looking forward to the winter!! the winters in Natal are much like that of Texas, cold but not freezing... althought there was more rain.. but here in the North West province temps can drop to about 15 degrees Faranheit... eish!! but that is not the norm norm... we shall see...

some of the guests right now are these snoody stuck up rich kids from Cape Town. they are all working for some company peddling things out to door steps and making too much money for doing too little and they are so judging and last night while I was serving them drinks in the bar, they explaining to me about the common people they come across int heir field and how the common people look dirty and have bad clothes and some of them seem retarded even.. I think I fit in to a couple of those categories yet they felt comfortable talking to me about it.. not sure.. quite annoying really. my shoes have holes in them.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

one of the tortoise friends.one of the tortoise friends.
one of the tortoise friends.

I feed them cabbage


Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb