Halloween in the bush


Advertisement
Published: April 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We are up early and get to see the damage on the rental car. Not too bad. A van picks us up and we head out to the Idube. As we were closer, we saw some animals. I was not too big on coming here. I mean, I could see animals in a zoo if I wanted. My buddies were, however. I am glad we did come though. It was a neat experience.
We settled into our rooms and hit the pool. Later on we had some lagers, before heading out on our evening game drive.
We did not see much early on, except for a few giraffes and some kudu. I remember stopping by a river to relieve myself and the driver telling me to not get so close to the river because of crocs. He did not have to tell me twice! We found some hippos nearby also.
As the sun was setting, we finally saw one of the Big 5---a lion! It was great to see it there in the wild.
After dark, we saw another Big 5 animal--a leopard. It was amazing that the spotter could find this in the dark.
We were in an open top Range Rover and backing up near some brush, when I saw a snake up in a tree. It was about 5 feet away from our heads and I pointed it out. I guess it was a poisonous vine snake. Wow, how nice.........
Back at the lodge, we were treated to a wonderful outdoor feast! There were hyenas all around.
They told us to not go out of our lodge at night for any reason and about what to do in an emergency. Interesting!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb