Oh I love Africa :)


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo » Hoedspruit
January 19th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Buzz the bush babyBuzz the bush babyBuzz the bush baby

I love this little guy he is the cutest and hes mine for 10 days :)
The weather over the last couples of days has been very strange. It boiling hot, I've never been anywhere where it is this hot. My skin feels like it is melting! It poured with rain the other day. We had to walk down to breakfast in it and got drenched then the sun came out later on and dried up all the rain! Last night we had thunder and lightening. The lightening flashing over the mountains was pretty amazing. I am updating this blog more than I thought I would. The reason we are in town today is that Martain is going to another project & was getting picked up here. I'm actually going to miss that crazy dutch boy!
Yesterday I got a rather rude awakening. The two 7 month old Cheetahs had escaped from their enclosure. Guess what? I was one of the last people in there. The day before I helped Danni feed them as Natalie was busy. While we were in there we saw a Dassie in their cage hiding from the Cheetahs. It was a full grown Dassie we have them all over the centre. They can bite very hard so we got Stuart and he
BuzzBuzzBuzz

Buzz eating flying ants yum yum
managed to get it out. Some how the gate was not closed or something. I know for a fact that it wasn't my fault. We had to gate open and closed for us as we were carrying the empty bowls. So anyway me Danni and Nat had to speak to the owner Brian. We were scared! Everyone thought he was going to shout at us but he was actually ok. Luckily the Cheetahs didn't kill anything and are now back in their enclosure.

Alice one of the ladies who works at the centre is away at the moment so I get to look after her thick tailed bush baby Buzz. OMG I love him sorry Lewis you have been replaced :P
I'll post some pics on here hes sooooooo cute!!!

Not really much to say right now the last couple of days have been spent at the centre doing jobs and stuff. Tomorrow I am waitressing at a wedding at Ya Mati's. That should be fun!
We had a power cut yesterday. Now it keeps on going off and on. The food in the fridge is all going off which is worrying as that is what we feed
WarthogWarthogWarthog

Baby warthog awwww
the animals! Anyway must go. Miss you all loads but LOVE it here!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

PythonPython
Python

Me holding a python :)
Vulture runVulture run
Vulture run

Everyday we feed the Vultures. There are literally hundreds of them. Thought this was a good pic of them flying
Some of the Moholo gang!Some of the Moholo gang!
Some of the Moholo gang!

From l to r Me,Nat,Alice,Hugo,Zaine,Martain,Christine,Dalany & Will
At Wilderbees lapaAt Wilderbees lapa
At Wilderbees lapa

Some of the Moholo gang
Me and BuzzMe and Buzz
Me and Buzz

:) :) :)
Will and JessWill and Jess
Will and Jess

Two of my fellow volunteers
Living roomLiving room
Living room

Our living room that we actually never use.


22nd January 2007

I randomly found your blog. Awesome pictures! Just curious, what program are you volunteering through?

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb