What Road Rules?


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
December 3rd 2012
Published: December 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I remember the road safety in South Africa being excellent. Our first experience driving from Johannesburg airport to Rustenburg was a far cry from this! There seems to be a relaxed view of the "rules" and I am very glad I will not be driving here. All manner of vehicle will overtake on the road shoulder. When we came up behind others they would pull over onto the shoulder to allow us to pass. People overtook when there was no line of sight and the road markings did not disallow overtaking on blind corners. What an experience....

I was a very literal child... I guess I'm still a bit too literal sometimes. In South Africa the traffic lights are called robots. I thought that meant they were live robotic machines and every time we drove through one I would hide my face thinking they were looking at me. I look at them differently now though with today's technology they very well could be real!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb