The Airport


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
December 3rd 2012
Published: December 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The last time I was in Johannesburg airport I felt like a fugitive escaping my country. In the dark of night we went to the airport, thinking all the way that something would happen to prevent us from leaving. As an 11 year old I was scared beyond imagination. This new land we had been told so much about was waiting but it was very difficult to leave. My father had to prove that he was the only person that the mine in Tasmania could hire for the SA government to allow us to leave.



So now here we are again. It doesn't feel that different to any other airport. It is smaller than I had remembered and considerably smaller than my adult mind would have expected for the largest airport in the country. The service levels are not quite as friendly as the air hostesses on the flight.



We were like magnets to a flame when we came across the Wimpy Bar. Our childhood experiences of this cafe still burn strong in our memories. How wonderful to see that some things don't change. We helped ourselves to a cooked breakfast, enjoying the opportunity to add a boerewors! Sipping on rooibos tea here just seems so right somehow. I hardly ever drink it in Australia so why does it taste so good here? I'm sure it's completely psychological... savouring something good from within the fear-laced memories.



My technology withdrawal symptoms were finally relieved when I managed to get a local SIM for my iPad and Skype my family. They don't feel very far away being able to stay connected to them.

Advertisement



6th December 2012

Wow
Maria, This looks just amazing...what an adventure for you & your sisters. How long are you away for?

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb