Signs of Change


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
December 3rd 2012
Published: December 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Before we left my parents were discussing the better opportunities that have been open to us because we immigrated to "the lucky country". It is quite true. I very much doubt we would be able to do what we have if my parents hadn't sacrificed so much to move their family to a then-foreign land. But this flight is very different to the one we took when we left South Africa. The staff are not white and they are lovely. The initial announcement "enjoy our hospitality" still rings in my ears as the beautiful hostess makes me a cup of tea. She graciously poses for a photo with us. I can see now that she has had an opportunity that she would not have had when we lived in South Africa. Perspective is everything.



The beautiful African hostess reminds me of my best friend growing up in South Africa. Elizabeth, the daughter of our next door neighbour's slave. I missed her dearly when we left. Many tear-filled nights were spent remembering her. We had no ability to remain in touch - there was no Internet back then and I didn't think to write her. She felt so far away and didn't have a real home. I doubt there would be any way to track her down now. I can't help wondering if life has afforded her opportunities that her mother didn't have?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb