Arrived in Johannesburg


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg » Bruma
March 2nd 2015
Published: March 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

And here I am - after 2 very long days of travel - intersting times on the road, though.



It is 27 degrees Celsius - quite a change from -25 at home when I left. It is delightful to be met by my guide, Natasha (all arranged by http://www.HillsofAfrica.com and my buddy, Sandy Salle!) - when one is at the level of fatigue that I was getting off that plane, it was nice to be told where to go and what to do, LOL.

The hotel I am staying at is right at the airport so it was just a short walk away and off we go. http://www.thecitylodgehotel.com

The room is really quite nice - very comfortable and it was only moments before I hit the bed. I only intended to sleep for 2-3 hours but woke up 6 hours later. It's all good. After a very refreshing shower, it came time to figure out all the plug-ins, find the hairdryer (it's in the desk drawer - go figure!), and then off to find some food and a latte. The hotel is quite modern - with meeting rooms (I always check the meeting room notices to see what companies are meeting and to see if I can connect with meeting organizers to introduce myself as a speaker! One of my secret strategies to growing my speaking business .......there ya go!) - it's got a decent fitness center too which I will be using because I am committed to my workouts while on the road. I just feel better when I do that.

Hooked up with my team today - and they will be running the show for the next while. That makes me feel so good! They are simply the best!

I am off to meet with Hema - http://www.thepassionateprofessional.com She is my hostess next week for International Women's Day and has done an outstanding job coordinating some special events. You will want to follow along for those next week.

And then the arrival of my colleagues, most of whom are travelling in from Atlanta. We are part of the http://www.suzanneevans.org 'Give Movement Journey' and that's the main reason I am here in South Africa. Lots of fun ahead - watch for it.

You're getting a sneak peak in the photos here of the awesome breakfast buffet we had this morning (Mar 3) before heading out to Zambia - yum-o!!!!

Thanks for coming along with me,



Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

the Give Movement Journey entouragethe Give Movement Journey entourage
the Give Movement Journey entourage

tired bodies - but happy hearts!


3rd March 2015

So Excited For You
So pleased that your trip is falling into place so well. I know that your journey will be an answer to many prayers. Love watching you bless all of these women over these two weeks and how wonderfully you will impact their futures.
3rd March 2015

And now the work begins......
Thank you, Wanda Woman! So blessed to be part of this amazing journey! I feel it ........
3rd March 2015

Thanks for the Travel Blog
I've never been to Africa and in truth wasn't sure I ever would but the glimpse of Johannesburg you have provided so far has me rethinking that. Looking forward, with anticipation, to hearing more about your journey, this event, and the wonderful women you will be meeting.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb