School Day!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
August 15th 2012
Published: August 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I was on lions today, so when I got there, two people headed off to sanctuary while the rest of us went on in with the J litter. They can be a little roudy in the morning but you just have to get them to behave and go lay down and then their fine. We had everyone raking because someone else had taken all the shovels, but there were hardly any leaves, so it was kind of pointless. Finally we got a shovel and picked up the poop. There was so much! Tams walked by and asked if we were okay and we said yeah, theres just poop of like 10 lions in here this morning! People must have missed some the previous days. Oh well, mistakes happen. Once that was done, we ate some yummy breakfast and headed back down to the cabin.

We were going to the school today, I was supposed to go last week but there were too many people so I opted to come this week. We weren't leaving for like a half hour because Delano had to go somewhere first which is why I went down to the cabin. While I was getting ready, Jake stopped by to tell us that they weren't going out tonight and we were braaiing instead, so I needed to buy him some boos.

The kids were just as cute as last time, and I recognized some of them and the teacher of course recognized me as having been there before. The kids all had new songs to sing for us this week and all the people who hadn't come yet were awwing like I did my first time. We also got lots of hugs, I think maybe because the recognized me, they were more prone to come to me because I looked familiar, but I don't really know. When we were with the bigger kids in the school next door, one of the volunteers, Alon started lifting all the kids up and touching the ceiling. The teacher said a lot of them don't have father figures back home so they thought it was even more fun. Its always said to hear their stories, but I love seeing them smile to much when they watch all of us walk in. They just get so excited.

After the school, we went to the boardwalk and we only had 15 minutes to spend there because we had to make Katrina's doctors appointment. I went straight to the African store to buy some cool things for myself since I didn't buy anything my first time there. I ended up buying like an armful of bracelets and some other things. There wasn't much time though which is good because I probably would have bought a lot more than I did.

After dropping Katrina at the doctors, we went to the super market and got meat for the braai. I was apparently the only one who knew of the change in plans so everyone else was surprised in the market. When we went to the liquer store, I had the hardest time trying to find what Jake wanted and it was staring my right in the face, I just couldn't remember what it looked like. He really didn't send the right person for this job.

We were running late because of the doctors, plus we had to stop again so Katrina could get her alcohol. We got back passed lunch time, but the ladies always make the right amount of food and put the remainders in the oven to keep warm, so we just grabbed our food from there. Once I finished I made Jake come to the hyaenas with me because he doesn't like them and its his last day, so I knew if I didn't make him go in, he wouldn't. They were relatively well behaved, and I was able to get a good picture of Jake. Jake then made me come to tigers with him. They were so adorable. Judah played too rough and one of the blood vessels ruptured in his ear so its full of blood, so its all droopy. He looks like such a goof ball now, its adorable. I was also able to take some bangin pictures which I was really excited about. I then stopped in with Shadow, but he was a little roudy so I dipped out and let him have some alone time.

Since I was on lions, I had to go get the chicken boxes from meat prep. Leopards get fed on Wednesdays so we had to get two extra boxes. Once I got back to the restaurant, I prepped the sanctuary's food and someone else went to go feed them, while I powdered the chicken. People kept missing when they tried to toss the boxful of chicken into the enclosure so we gathered all the buckets we could find and put the chicken in all of them. That worked so much better! Let me tell you. We didn't miss any, and it was my first time tossing food over which was cool. I couldn't ever do it with the legs because they were too heavy.

No food for me tonight because we are braaiing so I went straight to my room and got ready then went out to the fire. I had vodka and guava juice which was not very good so I didn't drink too much. Tim started to explain this drinking game that had far too many rules and we were all sober, I don't know how drunk people would have been able to play. Some people did rounds on the kudu horn, I would have but there wasn't any drink that I liked enough to drink two of, especially not the beer, I tried Jakes and it was gross. I don't know how people drink so much. Since I didn't like my drink. I reverted back to the wine cooler, which Jake spilled a little of and when he noticed it he was like well they deserved it, its a baby drink. Whatever. He's a punk anyway. After some more partying and dancing, I decided to go to bed because I'm on tigers in the morning and I'm one of the few who have to be up bright and early!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb