I went to go fetch a cow


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
August 16th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My days here are winding down, and today is my last official day on tigers, so I woke up early and got them all ready. Tams gave me Or to walk around the parking lot with becuase they were going to the dam. I however could not go because I had gone to the enclosure on Monday, so I had to stay here and clean out the enclosure. Since I was by myself, I had to ask someone in a different group for help and we were able to clean the tigers enclosure before they got back. Once they got back, we went off to clean Shadows enclosure. They told me while they were at the dam, two of the tigers ran off into the woods and they had to go catch them. Man that would have been hilarious to watch.

At breakfast Tams asked if anyone wanted to go with Delano to go fetch a cow, a few hands went up, but I was the only one leaving on Monday who still hadn't been so I got to go. Before I left, I had to say good-bye to Jake, which of course was sad. A bunch of us had been goofing on him telling him he was going to cry, and he said he was a real man and he wouldn't cry. I told him he had to pretend with me, he said he'd think about it, but he did. I'll miss him, no one'll be here to get chicken blood all over me now 😞

Going to get the cow was definitely an experience that I won't forget, but it's not something I can write about on here. It's a very touchy subject for some people and although we only ever take sick and dying cows, I don't want to put it in writing. So anyone who would like to know, feel free to talk to me about it in person.

By the time we got back, project time was already over so I got to have more animal quality time. There weren't that many handlings which was good, because there was more time with just us and the animals. We didn't have much animal time in the afternoon though because we had to go back to the office to separate the stuff. The people who had done animal time in the morning had taken all the stuff out of the office/garage. The place was almost worse than hoarders but they had some really cool vintage stuff. We had to put some things back into the garage and separate all the rest of it into metal, plastic, wood and fabric. Then we had to bring it back down to the workshop for them to do something with it. I don't know what. I got called back up for one or two handlings. We had to go into the lions, but unfortunately they were too roudy. When we went in to go test them to see if we could get them to calm down, we couldn't. We gave it like 20 minutes and tried again with no luck. We offered everyone refunds but they all exchanged for something else. Most took lions but these two really attractive british guys went in with the servals instead, which I thought was funny because they are basically house cats. This was my first handling with the servals. It took almost 4 weeks for this to happen so I thought that was funny. By the time those were finished, we had to prepare the meat for feeding. The people who were helping at the office still weren't back yet, so there were only a few of us so we all picked up each others slack. Someone went to go feed sanctuary and I taught others how to feed servals. The office people got back just in time to help us get the tigers up which has been going so incredibly smooth its almost unbelievable.

That was it for the day, the post would have been longer if I could talk about the cow, but I can't so it's nice and short today. Oh! we also got this new girl Winnie, she's from Hong Kong.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb