South Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Jeffreys Bay
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

How are you? Hope you are enjoying the spring, is spring on its way now? Well it better be, because I don't know how I'll be able to handle cold weather when I get back! After spending nearly 3 months in the sun.. oooh, I don't want to come back yet! Can I stay just a little bit longer? I love traveling soooo much, it's the best thing I have ever done and I will definitely do it again soooooooon! I think South America next or parts of Africa.

Anyway, what have I been up to the last week or so? I know, I'm terrible at keeping up with this blog, Sorry I get a bit lazy..

After Cairns I flew to Perth. Right across Ayers Rock where I was suppose to stop and do a tour, I didn't. Although I did see the famous rock from the plane, it's massive and then there is nothing, just dessert everywhere!!

Perth was lovely, a really pretty and a very clean city. Much smaller than I expected and also much more quiet(in terms of the night life)than I thought it would be. I stayed 3 nights in the city centre- North Bridge. I only spend one day looking around town and the stunning Kings Park. The rest of the time I found myself on the beach so I thought why not just stay there. I then picked up my stuff and went to Cottelsoe which is right by the beach. Wow, what an amazing beach, beautiful sand and went for miles and miles. I stayed in an hostel there where I met some cool people, Norweigian, Irish, Swedish.. etc. I relaxed pretty much most of the time, hanging out on the beach, swimmig, reading and so on. Then of course a couple of drinks, but not as crazy as on the east coast. It was St Patric's day and also their Sundays are pretty mad. The very famous Sunday session! Great fun and a lot of people enjoying the afternoon sun with a couple of chilled drinks.
The last 2 days I went to Scarborough beach where they had Australia's life savers competition. Great timing I say! he he..A lot of fit men in small swimmers.. running, swimming and paddling on their surf boards. Pretty cool to watch, not just for the men of course! Well that's was my time in Oz and god it went quickly. I had the best time and I met the greatest people along the way. I have many amazing memories to come home with. Aaaah, it was a little bit difficult to leave.. but hey I'm now In South Africa and already having fun!

I arrived to Johannesburg on Wednesday and I was a little bit nervous to get there on my own as it's not the most safe city you can find. I had organised a lodge to stay in so they picked me up straight away from the airport. The first thing I noticed was that every single house looked like a prison with huge security fence all around.. Scary having to live like that every day! The place I stayed in was very pretty and people friendly. The funny part of it was that I shared a room with an 84 year old lady from Scotland.. She was half blind and half death..She also talked in her sleep.. a very sweet old lady though. ha ha.
I managed to get a very cheap flight to Port Elizabeth the day after, so off I was again.. Only stayed one night there in another really great place. I can't get over how cheap it is here..
I'm now in place called Jefferys Bay, a small town right by the beach. I'm in a hostel which seems to be the best and the most popular one here, so very busy. I got here early this morning, got up at 5am as I still feel the the jet lag.. Arrived at 9am with the baz bus that I'm traveling down the coast with. I signed up and straight into a 2 hour surfing lesson. Great fun, good waves here! Will do some more of that here for sure.
I have also booked horse riding on the beach tomorrow, really looking forward to it. My next stop will probably be Storm river, the main spot for the highest Bungee jump in the world! Woohooo, Jumping off a bridge is something that needs to be done even though my dear mum won't like it! 😊

God, starving now, better go and eat the Mexican that is served here tonight, costing me nothing.. it's great, I love the fact that I can do anything and I'm still not spending much, he he.

Take care for now!

Love
H xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



25th March 2007

Ja,våren är på väg varmt och skönt i dag,njut av den sista lediga tiden nu och ta det lugnt med Bungee Jump, låter lite läskigt tycker jag och din mor också tror jag men hon borde väl vara van med allt du hittar på vid det här laget. Vi ses kram lenamoster
25th March 2007

Hej Helena! Det är så kul att läsa när du skriver...åhhhh du verkar ha det så otroligt bra! Hoppas det blir bra i sydafrika och att du får nya härliga upplevelser. Var rädd om dig bara! Här är det vår och det börjar bli varmare. Snart är det påsklov för barnen. Jessica åker till Sälen och Micke blir hemma. Vi kanske åker till Stockholm några dagar. Ha det så bra! Vi hörs snart! Massor av kramar Maria

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb