A park with a few Elephants


Advertisement
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Table LoveTable LoveTable Love

hanging out in Addo Elephant park. There werent any elephants to be seen so instead we chilled with some bevies
From Coffee Bay we moved on to Addo Elephant park. It was one of the longest days of driving we have had to endure. I am a pretty easy going person but some times I just need my personal space! Having 18 people crammed into a bus with all their luggage can really get a person feeling claustrophobic!

There isn't much of a story to tell about Addo... We arrived in the early evening and ran to the store to get some beer to take the edge off of the long day in the truck. Marnie and I climbed on to the roof of Stevie to enjoy the sunset and see if we could spot any wildlife. From the roof top we did see 2 Elephants head to the watering hole for an evening drink, but weren't able to go to the water hole to see them up close as dinner was ready and we were starving.

After dinner Marnie and I took our sleeping bags and some refreshments to the waterhole in the attempt to see if any lions would make it down for a drink. Unfortunately the only animals that came were some Kudu. Nice to look
General Cassidy Ninja CookGeneral Cassidy Ninja CookGeneral Cassidy Ninja Cook

Cassidy making us up some grub. I cant complain about the food- Cassidy is one good cook!
at, but not impressive.

It was an early morning as we were doing a game drive on our way out of the park. Although this is called Addo Elephant Park, we saw no Elephants. There used to be a huge population of Elephant in this area, but all the farmers killed them off as they were causing problems with their crops. Eventually the population of Elephants were killed off to only eleven. Since 1931 the parks have been trying to revitalize the population and have now gotten the Addo Elephant population to 450.

From Addo we drove south to Tsitikama, this is a breathtaking park on the coast. We camped right next to the ocean where there were huge wave breaks and the roar of the ocean was insane! I would love to say that we got up to something exciting in terms of normal thinking, but we did get to do our laundry!!!!!! I know that sounds like the worst way to spend an evening, but it rocked!!! I have not had clean clothes in ages... I have hand washed my laundry but it just isn't the same!

I washed everything I owned except for the outfit I was wearing, took a hot hot hot hot hot shower and then changed into my freshly laundered and DRIED clothes!!! That was the best I have felt in a LONG time.
Strange the way something as psychological as being freshly showered and in clean clothes can put you in such a good mood.

Tomorrow we head into Stormsriver for some fun and adrenaline... 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb