Salone (Sierra Leone)


Advertisement
Sierra Leone's flag
Africa » Sierra Leone » Freetown
March 9th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Kusheh ... aw di bodi?!

Krio (Creole) is one of the main languages here in Sierra Leone and a lot of fun to listen to; I've been trying my best to learn it!

After spending a couple days in London, I finally arrived at Lungi Airport (FNA), located across the water in Lungi, 15 km outside of Salone's (Sierra Leone) capital, Freetown. There are several ways of getting from one place to the other, but here are the three most popular:

1) Helicopter
2) Watertaxi/hovercraft
3) Ferry


I've been told that the old helicopters, which were once given by the Russians, are not that reliable. And since I wasn't that familiar yet with the watertaxi and its simplicity, I went by ferry, an adventure in itself. I must also add that I was picked up by two friends here and since they came by ferry, I kind of had no choice. After arriving at FNA at 21:45 (1.5 hours late), stepping foot onto the one country's soil which has intrigued me over the past half decade making this seem like a dream come true, a 15min bumpy car ride to the harbor + 60min of waiting to get onto the ferry + 45min ferry ride, I finally arrive on the east end of Freetown!

Some quick information to future travelers about Freetown. There are basically three parts to the city: East, City Centre and the West. Most people, especially the locals, stay in the East and Centre; the West is where all the NGO workers (they're not allowed to reside in the East or Centre) and most expats live. With about a million (population is roughly five million) people living in the capital, it is definitely a crowded place. But fun! This place is unlike any other country I have ever been. There's little ("decent") infrastructure here, dust everywhere and absolutely nothing "familiar", and with that I mean no air-conditioned McDonalds, Burger King, or Starbucks (not that I need or want it anyway)!

The first couple of days I explored the city and surrounding area, got a feel for the people and culture, and then settled in right away. I feel comfortable and at home. The people are so wonderful, so friendly and interested in who you are. Besides one guy I caught last week trying to get into my bag, everything has gone so smoothly.

I have visited Beach Number 2; Bureh Beach; the insanely huge American Embassy, which a couple years ago moved up to Leicester Peak; Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary, a must-see when traveling through Salone; and several villages surrounding Freetown. Since I am living on my own (along with a fun "security" guy), I have been able to do a lot of cooking. With help from mi paddy (my friend) and some of the locals with whom I hang out regularly, we have been making many African dishes! Some of the things I've been eating and drinking are different stews (i.e. the traditional peanut stew), plantains, cassava, sweet potatoes, tea with milk and lots of sugar, palm wine, homemade ginger juice (heavenly!), exotic fruits, fish (i.e. barracuda!) and most interestingly thus far, the uterus of fish! Haha incredible!

For those who do not know, I am primarily here doing research for my master's thesis, which is on youth and education after the war. Sierra Leone ended its gruesome 11 year civil war in 2002, but is now a safe and peaceful country in West Africa.

I know it took a while for me to blog (insh'allah the next one will be sooner), but overall ...

...Di bodi fine, tenki ya


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

FreetownFreetown
Freetown

City Centre
FreetownFreetown
Freetown

City Centre
Freetown Freetown
Freetown

City Centre


11th March 2010

hey hey...
hallo lieve schat....mooie woorden weer.....en prachtige foto's. Ik ben zo blij voor je dat alles goed verloopt en dat je goed bezig bent met je thesis. ben dagelijks met je bezig........make the difference....mooie dochter van me.....in and out...I love you, mamma
11th March 2010

schatje, wat een mooi verhaal en vooral de otos zijn weer prachtig!! heel veel plezier en kennis daar in Siera Leone. maar.....je weet het ....wel voorzichtig zijn en af en toe eens om kijken!! ;) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx pp
12th March 2010

Nik, how come the NGO workers and expats have to live in the west away from the locals? Salone sounds fascinating. Are you getting a lot of work done? Keep us posted. We love reading about everything! <3
15th March 2010

Lovin it :)
19th March 2010

Katie Kate: I believe because of security reasons (that expats/NGO workers only live in the West)

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb