Senegal's reaction to Obama becoming the next president of the USA


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal
November 4th 2008
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

When I am asked by the locals where I am from they are often surprised to hear I am from "America". They simpy as do not get many people from the States to visit West Africa as a tourist. I was surprised to hear so many people then tell me that they love America and it is a great country. They love it's democracy and how it welcomes outsiders. The reaction is one of the strongest I have received about my country while traveling. I try to then express that I feel very lucky to be from America but it is not a perfect country.

Their next question I usually receive was what I thought about Obama and if he would be the next president of America. While I thought Obama was the best candidate for America, I had not been sold completely on his ability to lead our country through what I consider a difficult time for the USA. However, after hearing so much about Obama and positive thoughts from the French and Sengalese I have caught Obama fever in a way.

Early the next morning after the election I was told of the results and thanked by everyone from the hotel for voting a black man to be the president of the USA. The manager of the hotel then upgraded my hotel and expressed his thanks once again. I should also mention that at the time I was staying on a small island yet everyone there was very interested in the results.

I just hope that Obama becomes a great leader for the USA.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb