Making my way to Ziguinchor, Casamance


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Lower Casamance » Ziguinchor
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left Dakar on Halloween night with not even a small image in Senegal that reminded me of Halloween in Chicago. I am sure all of my friends are out these next two nights in costumes partying the night away. It wasn't so bad for me as I was taking an overnight Ferry to the southern region of Senegal called Casamance. The ferry was very modern and I traveled in comfort as I had a bed in 4 person room. I spent the night talking to other travelers about their travels through West Africa. I awoke to us out of the Atlantic and now traveling down the Casamance River.

When I researched Senegal the one place I wanted to visit was the Casamance region for it's forests, rice fields, many riverways and tropical climate. It was so much greener than the dusty north I had just visited the past week and didn't seem to have much in common with the north.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the port town of Ziguinchor to not be your typical ugly and dirty port. There were colonial trading houses and I found a hotel right on the river with a great bar looking out over the river. It was so hot that first afternoon on my arrival I thought I might melt in the sun if I didn't quickly find shade. I found a few sailors who had brought their boats here from the Europe and even one from Cleveland. You just don't meet many America travlers here in Senegal. They were kind enough to point me in the right direction of the best islands and villiages in Casamance. After a day of rest on Sunday and at the internet I was ready to leave for Karabane Island on Monday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb