Best places I visited in Nigeria


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria
June 21st 2017
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Plenty of public information about traditional places of interests in Nigeria appears daily. So, there is no need to tell about known facts in details. In particular, in this post, I am going to write about some best places I visited in Nigeria last month. These are places, which I visited personally, so some of you might have other ones. As I love geography and biology, all the best places I visited in Nigeria during my last visit are connected with nature.

Information about numerous great places that I have already visited in Nigeria, I found at Naij . Moreover, my Nigerian Facebook friends shared some useful info about attractive places in Nigeria and gave me some practical pieces of advice. After I have unpacked my suitcase and had some rest, I finally have time to share my best places in Nigeria.

Ngwo Pine Forest

Ngwo Pine Forest is an amazing forest with numerous small caves and a picturesque waterfall. You can find this wild place in Enugu State. Moreover, if you are in this Nigerian state and have at least one free day, do not forget to visit high Awhum waterfall and cave.

Idanre Hills

More than 3000 feet above the sea level in Ondo state the Idanre hills are located. I also enjoyed visiting Omi Aopara – so called Thunder water, and the Agbogun footprint. Here I also gladly visited ancient Arun River. Residents are sure that it has healing properties.

Ogbunike Cave

I adore caves. That is why visiting Ogbunike cave was one of my dreams in Nigeria. It is a huge sandstone cave, which is included on the UNESCO heritage list. The cave can be found in Anambra state.

Kano City Walls

Kano is an ancient city that is well-known in Nigeria. So, the walls around it are over 14-kilometre earth structure. Kano City Walls are associated with Dala Hills, the Emir’s palace, and Kurmi market.

Ibeno Beach

Undoubtedly, Ibeno Beach is the longest one in the West Africa. Its length is almost 90 kilometers. Everyone in Akwa Ibom State will tell you where to find it.

Obudu Mountain Resort

This remarkable resort is famed for its great scenic views and soft climate. The resort is situated on the Obudu Plateau in Cross River state, not far from Cameroon border.

Ancient Nok Settlement

I like various old things. So, I was thrilled to visit an old Nok location. It is located in Jaba, Kaduna State, and is mostly known for its unique terracotta figurines.

Ikogosi Warm Springs

Ikogosi warm spring is included in the list of the eight most recognized world's hot springs. This amazing place can be found in Ekiti state.

Gashaki-Gumpti National Park

Unquestionably, Gashaki-Gumpti National Park is one of the best places I visited in Nigeria. First, it is known worldwide for the hugest diversity of both flora and fauna. You can visit this Nigerian attraction in Taraba state.

Lekki Conservation Centre

In Lagos state, I easily found a 79-hectare conservation site officially titled the Lekki conservation center. The Centre was initially built to save flora and fauna on the Earth, as well as protect mangrove from the urbanization.

Alok Ikom Monoliths

Ikom in Cross River state is known for its stone sculptures. Here you can observe more than 320 monoliths, which are spread in almost forty different locations.

Mambilla Tea State

The Mambilla Plateau in Taraba state is known for its amazing waterfalls. This place is also the home of the highland tea produced in several states in the region.

Gurara Falls

Gurara Falls are 100%!c(MISSING)onsidered the most picturesque waterfalls in Nigeria. They are situated in Niger State between Minna and Suleja. If you are in Abuja and you have a car, then it will not take you more than an hour to visit Gurara Falls.

Osun-Oshogbo Sacred Grove

In Oshogbo, Osun state, I visited a sacred grove, which is closely connected with the worship of the ancient goddess, Osun. Locals believe that visiting this place will help to treat any incurable diseases. So, now I have insurance for probable future illnesses, have not I?

Yankari National Park

Any trip to Bauchi state can be considered successful if you fail to visit the Yankari National Park. It is one of the rare places in Nigeria where I received an unforgettable safari experience. The park contains almost all types of African animals.

Matsirga Waterfalls

In Kaduna State, I finally managed to visit the place Nigerians like very much. This treasure is called Matsirga Waterfalls. This fascinating group of waterfalls is really worth visiting and enjoying.

Olumo Rock

This Rock was the final point of my trip to Nigeria. This site is situated in Abeokuta, the capital of the Ogun state. I knew before that it was a top-rated touristic attraction. However, I was not aware that it also was considered a holy place. Olumo Rock has two powerful elevators to get you to the top.



Nigeria is huge! There are plenty of great places to visit in this country. My love story with Nigeria has only started! Keep for updates!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb