Best places I visited in Kenya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
July 1st 2017
Published: July 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

When it comes to wildlife and safaris, everyone thinks of Kenya. For this reason, thousands of people visit this country yearly. So do me. However, there are plenty of other attractions that should be paid attention to in this country.

I surfed Kenya's Web carefully and finally got to know that almost all the necessary info about the best places to visit in Kenya can be found directly at the leading country's news site Tuko.

Among the best places I visited in Kenya, I should mention Hell’s Gate, Kora National Park, Meru Game Reserve, Mount Kenya, and Amboseli.

Kora National Park

Kora National Park is situated in 123 kilometers from Mount Kenya. It is a home to plenty of various rare species. The park occupies the territory of almost 1,800 square kilometers. I like wild animals. That is why this place is of much interest to me. Here I had a perfect chance of observing in their national environment such animals as hippopotamuses, cheetahs, lions, hyenas, wildcat, leopard, and antelope. Residents say that the best time to visit this park is winter when dry seasons come.

Meru Game Reserve

Another great place I visited in Kenya is Meru Game Reserve. It is not as big as the previous one but is also quite huge. It covers the territory of almost 880 square kilometers. The park is full of various African beasts such as elephants, rhinos, lions, leopards, and antelope. What I did not like in this park is that I visited it during rainy seasons. It was my fault, of course, though I was not aware of this fact. When it rains hard in Kenya, all roads just disappear making it nearly impossible to move between various places of interest.

Hell’s Gate

Hell’s Gate is perfectly known worldwide for its spectacular scenery and plenty of rare animals, of course. This site is located 62 kilometers northwest of Nairobi, near the famous Lake Naivasha. This fantastic park is home to so-called Three Huge Cats – leopards, cheetah, and lions. Here I was also lucky to take photos of buffalo, hyena, hyrax, hartebeest, baboon, gazelle, zebra, eland and some other wild species. Hell’s Gate is also known worldwide for perfect camping, bicycling, hiking, and motorcycling facilities.

Mount Kenya National Reserve

Mount Kenya National Reserve offers beautiful sceneries and rich wildlife. The Reserve is located in the central Kenya. So it was quite easy to reach it from Nairobi and other cities. The reserve's fauna is represented with hyenas, elephants, buffalos, monkeys, porcupines, leopards, etc. The park has recently acquired quite a good infrastructure. It has all the necessary options for a perfect rest, including camping, rock climbing, mountaineering, ice climbing, etc. For me, Mount Kenya National Reserve has become one of the best places to visit in Kenya because this place is quite spacious with not many people everywhere. It is an ideal place for a peaceful rest.

Amboseli National Park

According to numerous reviews which I had read before visiting Amboseli National Park, Kenyans consider this Reserve to be most visited and liked in the country. So, I decided to check it, especially when I got to know that it was rich in rare wild birds.

Moreover, Amboseli National Park offers one of the best views of the largest in Africa Mount Kilimanjaro. While enjoying spectacular views of this magnificent mountain, I was lucky to observe numerous rare birds such as crakes, pelicans, hammerkops, raptors, and kingfishers.

The park also has a well-equipped infrastructure. Such facilities as lodges, hotels, campsites, and several restaurants with Kenyan traditional cuisine are available in this park.




Kenya offers plenty of remarkable attractions. This time I told you about the best places I visited in Kenya regarding wildlife. In some time I am going to show you many other places to visit in this country.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb