My new friend...


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
June 22nd 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

RichardRichardRichard

My new friend...
So, I made a new friend! His name is Richard...

Last week as I was walking with one of the girls from the hostel around town, I saw this guy running in workout clothes. Now, back in the States this wouldn't have even turned my head, but here in Usakos, NO ONE goes running, so of course, I stopped and stared. (You have to understand that when I am running down the street, any car that is driving by stops and ask if I want a ride and everyone else just stares at me like I am crazy!)

So, I asked him where he was from (since I knew he wasn't from Usakos) and he told me he was from Walvis Bay (a town by the coast) and he was working at our hospital for a few weeks. He's an X-ray technician and the X-ray technician who works at our hospital was taking a month leave so he was filling in. So, the next couple of days, I actually had an adult to go running with (normally it's me and about 5-8 kids running along). So then I decided to ask him if he wanted to go hiking
Hakhasep MountainHakhasep MountainHakhasep Mountain

The mountain before we started to climb
with me up this mountain right outside of my town that I had been wanting to hike up since I got here but it had been too hot. And wouldn't you know, he did!

So, my first hiking experience in Namibia was great. There were no real trails but when we got to the top, there was a great view!! And then, remember when I said my other friend was going to help me paint the library? Well, he wasn't feeling well (I think he drank too much the night before) and Richard totally helped me out and painted with me the whole weekend! It was an exhausting but fun weekend! (I'll save pictures of the new and improved library for next week!)

Then, on Monday was "African Child's Day." In 1976 (I think) a group of students were fighting Apartheid by refusing to speak Afrikaans in South Africa and were shot and killed by the police. So every year, all over Africa, these kids are remembered. So on Monday, after school, we went to our town hall and all the local school choir's sang some beautiful songs...I really enjoyed it!






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

View from the topView from the top
View from the top

Beautiful view...and it was really windy!
African Child DayAfrican Child Day
African Child Day

These were the Grade 7 kids from EPS (my school) singing...they don't normally wear these outfits :)
African Child DayAfrican Child Day
African Child Day

These were the Oshivambo girls from the North doing their "traditional dances"


23rd June 2007

Hey Lady!
Hi Jess! I am so happy to see that you are doing so much fun stuff! I can live vicariously through you! Brighid
24th June 2007

Hmmm
I'm starting to think these stories are made up, the pictures are from the National Geographic website, your phone number is a prepaid cell phone you borrowed, and you're actually sipping Pina Colada's on the beach at the Four Seasons. Hmmmm.
1st July 2007

Hi Wess!
Sounds like you are doing amazingly! I finished the school year this week and finally could catch up on your journal entries. I have to say you are a total inspiration. I've never met someone with all of your incentive, drive, acceptance, motivation and compassion. I am so proud of you and honored to be your (old) friend! :-)

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0882s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb