Happy July 4th!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Spitzkoppe
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy July 4th to everyone!!

I definitely was thinking about all of you this week and missing the shore, fireworks, bar-b-q's and other patriotic things that we do back there. It was funny, when I was writing the date on the blackboard at school, and I wrote 4th of July, and asked if anyone knew why this date was important to me, no-one knew and I was actually surprised by that since they know everything else about American life...our politics, our music, our celebrities...but not our Independence Day...anyway....

So, 2 weekends ago, I decided to go on a self-prescribed field trip with my 2 buddies. I've already told you all about Anna...my 13 year old side-kick who I just adore. The other one is a 16 year old boy named Gregory, who lives at my hostel with his grandmother, who is the Matron there. He is the only boy who lives there because it used to be a co-ed hostel...but the boys didn't come back this year because they were told they were going to renevate the boys block this year....but they never did. So this year it is only girls...and Gregory. Anyway, he's great! So smart...I have never in my life seen a kid study, or like school as much as Gregory. Whenever I see him, he is either studying or reading. Sometimes I have to bribe him with listening to my IPOD so that he will just go for a walk or run with me and not study on a Friday night.

Anyway, there's this huge rock/mountain near my town called Spitzkoppe that I have heard a lot about and been wanting to see but have not gotten the chance. So I invited my buddies to take an adventure with me and check it out...

So we woke up on a Saturday and luckily hiked (hitched) 1 ride with a friend of mine and then flagged down a German couple to take us the rest of the way...it was really in the middle of nowhere...no running water, no electricuty... Once we got there, these 3 little girls showed us around and hung out with us all day (of course they asked for $20 at the end of the day) but we had a great time climbing and exploring these rocks. I guess there are these old historic rock paintings there that bushmen painted hundreds and hundreds of years ago...but we actually didn't get to see them because they were pretty far away from our drop off point. Then we walked for almost 2 hours before even 1 car came by to give us a ride back to Usakos. It was exhausting but fun! I am definitley going to take my dad back there when he comes to visit in August...yay!

And then last weekend, we were supposed to have a long weekend off from school but since we had an extra week off over the May break they took that away from us. My 2 friends who live in the North still decided to go to Windhoek (our capital) so I decided to meet them. Very fun...I felt like a true American..shopping, going out to eat, going to coffee shops...ahhhh!

Anyway, on Saturday, when we were walking around downtown, there was this Gay/Lesbian parade that we happend to stumble upon. So a couple of woman grabbed my friends and me and gave us the banner...so the next thing we knew...we were walking down Windhoek chanting for Gay rights! It was great!

It's funny...Namibia is very anti-Gay rights. Their first president actually spoke out that being Gay is a sin and he doesn't want them living in Namibia. So, their current president actually has no say on the matter which many of these people in the parade see as a huge improvement although he is neither supportive or against their cause...I guess it is an improvement...but not much!

So, since then I have just really busy with school and the library is coming along nicely...I hope to be finishing it soon...pictures will follow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



6th July 2007

Hello
Hey I've been wondering where you've been! I like the house of cans, it reminds me of the art on south street. If it makes you feel better on the 4th of July it rained here, so no big outdoor bbq for me. Along with your students there is probobly a lot of Americans who don't know why we celebrate July 4th. Keep having fun! Brighid
6th July 2007

Hope it wa happy anyway
Your picture of the House of Cans was fascinating to both me and to Alex. You remember him, my grandson. I'm currently in Margate and we're playing duesling computers and I had to show it to him. He's fascinated. And I continue to be fascinated by your tales of adventure. What an experience. Enjoy and enjoy. L, J
9th July 2007

amazing
so amazing... it is unbelievable that someone built that hut, let alone lives in it! keep the blogs coming and keep enjoying every moment of this wonderful experience!!
11th July 2007

glad to be in touch
hi jess I have finally gotten a new blog i am so glad to see how great things are and all is well here so keep making your memories and keep the blogs coming love ya lynne

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb