Social Working...


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's funny...since I have been here, I have not really done any typical "Social Work" then this week, two seperate things happened...let me explain...

On the very first day of school back in January, I was being a typical teacher and having the kids go around and introduce themselves, but before they went, I told them about me. "I'm from Philadelphia, I'd been living in California, I like to run, bike, swim and I am a Social Worker." That was really the last time I have said anything about Social Work and since then, I am strictly known as a "teacher," so I sort of thought they had all forgotten about that.

So, last week I was working late at school and I came home around 6pm, tired and hungry and there were two woman waiting at my door. One of the woman didn't speak any English so the other was there to translate. She told me that someone told her that I was a Social Worker and she needed help with her 13-year old granddaughter. She told me that her granddaughter has not been coming home, staying out late, and she thinks she may be drinking alcohol (funny how the continents change but the problems remain the same). She is worried because her granddaughter's mother is an alcoholic and she doesn't want her grandaughter to be like her mother. So, I told her that I would be more than happy to come and talk to her, just not right now, considering I was tired and hungry.

So last Saturday, I did my first Namibian "home visit" (as we like to call it in the Social Work field). It was good. I had both the grandparents there. Unfortunately, the girl wasn't there...but it went well. We came up with some rules for the girl to follow and I think they just wanted someone to listen to what they were going through.

So the other incidence really got to me. I have this one learner at school who is adorable. He is so cute and always smiling. Well, this term, I noticed that his grades have been seriously slipping, he had not been doing his homework at all and he just seemed distracted.

So after class on Wednesday, I pulled him aside and asked what was going on. He told me that he isn't able to concentrate at all or do his homework because there are serious problems at home. He told me his step-father is beating him and he is scared to be at home because his mother works all day, so he doesn't ever want to be at home alone with him. So, we met after school and went for a long walk. We talked and talked and he gave me permission to talk to his mother. So today, I went to talk to his mother and told her about my concerns. She said she knew there were problems but she didn't know how bad they were. She told me she was going to talk to her husband and the learner. So we'll see...

It's hard. Corporal punishment is definitely still in effect here. All of the other teachers and the principal herself still beat the kids when they misbehave even though it is "illegal." One time, I was talking with a teacher and 2 kids came up to us. The one kid was blaming the other for hitting him so the teacher just turned to the first kid and told him to hit him back. I thought, that's really helping!

I get frustrated because I feel like there is not much I can do, except show them how we try to really reward the positives and remind them that beating is ILLEGAL...but until the attitudes change...

Advertisement



13th July 2007

Wow, Jess. Sounds like a rough week. I am amazed by the difference you are making in this community - not only through your day job, but through the concern and kindness you demonstrate outside of school hours. You and your learners are in our hearts and prayers. Big hugs to all of you! Love, Laur
14th July 2007

social work
Hey there, Jess! Isn't it amazing that your experience as a social worker will always help someone? It's something you will always use, because you are a true nurturer.You love to help people. I loved your gay/lesbian protest march. You just got right in there with them with your support! So proud of you! Love, Michelle R
14th July 2007

Social Work
That Mom's a wuss and she should grab the kid and run..... oh, wait, there's nowhere to run to, is there? Sounds like you did a good job. Now go find the other girl and get two-for-two. L, J
16th July 2007

so sad
hi jess... its so sad for that poor boy. you feel like "what can you do," but think of what your "learner" believes you did. I'm proud to be your friend! xoxo
17th July 2007

Jess- I think it says a lot that you have won so much trust that people are coming to you with such important family issues. I think it is amazing that you are making such a mark on that town. Mazel tov. Miss you lots, Sara

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb