Stu World Tour - Malaga to Tanger


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Tangier-Tétouan » Tangier
December 6th 2004
Published: December 6th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Malaga - Tangier journeyMalaga - Tangier journeyMalaga - Tangier journey

Half an hour into the ferry journey from Algeciros to Tangier, looking back to Europe
Spent today travelling from Malaga to Tangier in Morocco. The bus to Algecirus took longer than I expected - I should know better than to believe the estimates in the Lonely Planet! It took about 3 hours, travelling all along the coast stopping at all the resorts on the way - Torrelominos, Marbela etc.



At the port of Algecirus, I caught the fast ferry, which is advertised as taking 1 hour, but in fact took 1 and a half hours.



Somehow, I managed to get on the ferry and disembark without getting my passport stamped. So, the Moroccan border guard sent me back on the boat to get my passport stamped. It wasn't really a problem - it only delayed me leaving the ship by 10 minutes. The ferry staff were very helpful.



This keyboard is annoying me - its not a standard qwerty - I'm a touch typist - so its slowing me down a lot.



I'm spending tonight in Tangier - I've had a wander around. I haven't found it as much as a hassle as everyone says it is, or as I remembered it from the
Malaga  - Tangier journeyMalaga  - Tangier journeyMalaga - Tangier journey

Stuart on the ferry to Tangier
last time I was here in 1995. Maybe I scare the touts away! Or maybe not. To be honest, I have been approached by touts both at the port and when walking around the city, but I haven't found them a problem, or difficult to get rid of. Plenty of firm no's to offers of Taxis, hotels, hashish and women seems to work.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.404s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 35; qc: 135; dbt: 0.1914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb