Am I still in Morocco ???


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Tangier-Tétouan » Chefchaouen
December 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had to wake up early because the bus to Chefchaoune was leaving at 8am. So I got into the bus station which is just outside the medina and bought my ticket and thereafter had a cheese crepe essentially like a "cheese kothu".

One thing being vegetarian has done to me, I have started eating loads of eggs, cheese and oranges. Guess I got to get the protien and vitamins from somewhere.

While enroute to Chefchaoune I finished Shadow of the Wind. Chefchaoune bus station doesn't look like one and you got to take a taxi to the medina. Chefchaoune is a really cute place and the whole city is painted blue. I asked the reason for this and the locals didn’t have an explanation. For example in India the cities Pushkar, Udaipur and Jodhpur are painted blue apparently it keeps the mosquitos away, over here there was no reason apparently it looks clean which in a way is true.

Coincidentally Chefchaoune looks a bit like Pushkar and Dharamsala in India.

I walked to a nearby hill to get a few panoramic views of the city. This town is full of tourist. I walked all over the city, little alleys everywhwere. I went outside the medina and found an internet place, checked email and got back to the medina. I went into a few CD shops as I was looking for this one particular song by Alpha Blondie which I heard in Merzouga but don’t know the name. I know when I hear it but otherwise I have no way to find out.

On my way back to the medina I stopped by at this cafe and bought a sandwich, essentially a baguette with a cheese omlette and fries and ketchup. It tasted soo good and I had another.

In one of the CD shops I went to, I met this Korean guy who had taken a seat in the CD shop and was having a chat with the guy running it. They were a fun bunch and I joined in the conversation. The guy at the shop was really nice he had 4 Alpha Blondie albums but none of them had the song I wanted. After a little while the Korean guy and I went to a nearby shop, he bought 3 pepsi cans and I bought 3 chocolates, went back to the CD shop and drank it with the shop keeper. After a while, the Korean guy and I left.

I went back to the hotel took a shower, it was still early was around 9pm so I took the Quran which I had bought the other day in Fes and went to the centre sat at a cafe and read it while drinking a hot chocolate. At about 1030pm I decided to go back to the hotel and sleep. One of my dorm mates Alessandro from Argentina also got back a little later after watching a football match on TV. My other dorm mate Stephanie from France who was getting ready for a 6 day trek in the Rif mountains was not to be seen.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb