Day 2 - Cli Surf and Yoga House, Taghazout


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Agadir
March 2nd 2016
Published: March 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 - Cli Surf and Yoga House

I rose early this morning at 7.30am, after a solid nights sleep. I took myself up to the rooftop yoga lounge... With a cup of tea! Not to do yoga!

It is amazing up there; it's 4 stories high with tall windows on all four sides, so it offers a panoramic 360 degree view of Taghazout. It's just what you need to start your day. There was no one else around; it is so peaceful.

I went for a shower and got myself organised and ready for my first full day in Morocco.

At about 8.30 other people started stirring. I noticed that some breakfast elements had started to be prepared and the table was now set.

The first person I met was Huan. He is from northern Spain. He told me he is here for a couple of months to surf, and meet his friends.

Then the 4 lads from Germany joined us. They are staying for a week to enjoy the surf. They were followed by Dan... From Hessle; he is here with Sam, a friend of Ella's who is a yoga teacher at home on Hull. Dan and Sam were a bit 'tired', due to being out with Ella last night! .... But the soon booked up having breakfast.

We had bread, omelette, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, muffins, tea and juice. A good around start to the day.

After breakfast we all got prepared to go to the beach. Initially I had told Ella that I wasn't interested in surfing, but once I was there, I thought it would be crazy to miss out a potential 'bucket list' opportunity! I got fitted out with a surf suit, the cats were loaded with boards, and off we went to Taghazout beach. It was only a ten minute drive along the main road.

We started with a beach run.... That nearly did me in! Then moved on to do a short warm up, stretching all the muscles before we could start. The 4 lads are already able to surf, so they just got on with it. Sam and I had a lesson with Azzedine. Sam has been surfing a couple of days now, so she is learning to stand, but as it is my first day, I will be paddling the pushing I into cobra whilst riding the wave. It sounds simple, but it's harder than you would think! It's all about the balance. I did really well, with only one real dunking! I was quite proud of myself! Dan sunbathed!

Ella arrived at the beach jusT before lunch, Francesca had also joined us. Lunch arrived at the beach in a cooling box.... HUGE meatball filled Turkish bread before lunch, I could only manage a half! I went up to the beach cafe for coffee. Moroccan timing is very similar to Indian times....every happens in time. I was sat for about ten minutes, waiting for my coffee, the the 4 lads joined me. The waiter finally came to take their order, then added mine on again! Eventually, I did receive the coffee. The lads were playing cards, and asked if I wanted to play, but I didn't recognise the game, so declined, but would observe.

It looked like fun, but I was struggling to follow; they kept telling me what and why they were laying cards, or picking up. They explained that the game they were playing is called Shithead!! Finally, I decided to have a game with them, feeling that u had picked up the host of it! I was pleased I D's, I managed to hold my own, with them all supporting me. A few people passed comment on the design of pack of cards; it depicted the Karma sutra.....and I hadn't even noticed... Lol

We all returned to the beach, the lads went back surfing, I sunbathed, chatting with Ella, Frankie, Sam and Dan. It did get quite hot around that time, but then soon started to cool. We all helped to pack up to return to Cli.

We: Ella, Sam, Dan, Chakib and I, have made plans to meet in half an hour, after a shower, to go into Taghazout for something to eat and a bit of obligatory shopping!

I don't usually shop on the first day, but it couldn't be avoided! Donna.... I now also have a little leather backpack handbag.... Perfect!

We drove to Taghazout town centre, strolling through the small, really colourful shops which led us down a steep pathway down to the beach. Whilst walking we passed a house that was for sale; I had a nosey through the window. To my horror, the guy inside invited us all in to view it! Ooohhhh... It was so lovely inside! Typically Moroccan, with lots of antique features! We continued walking past many bars and restaurants until we chose one to stop for a drink whilst we watched the sun set over the beach. Beautiful!

After a short break we continued our walk back up the hill to a restaurant. Tea was good, pizzas all round followed by milkshakes.... Lovely, then Chakib drove us all back to Cli House.

It's now 10pm.... I am so ready for bed! All the relaxing is very tiring!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb