Meknès and Rabat


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet
March 15th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Rabats KasbahRabats KasbahRabats Kasbah

Sharif don't like it, rock the Kasbah!
In Meknes I visited the beautiful medersa, the medina, all the museums and the next day I took a cab to Volibulis. This is the biggest Roman excavation site in Africa and has the most colourfull mosiac floors I have ever seen. Didn't want to hang around for too long in Meknès, so took the bus the next day to Rabat.

Rabat was nice too, although I was kasbahd out and got really sick of that song of the Clash shooting though my head every time I enter a Kasbah.
In Rabat I had to get my visa for Mali. Which I was able to obtain the second day. A big fat Malian sat in a huge room with one big table, two chairs and a couch (was it the ambassador himself, I wanted to believe so) took my passport, started the same football story as usual, Cruijff was his favorite this time and told me to come back at 7? Seven I said? yes seven, but are you not closed then? no no, now go! As I walked outwards through the door, he started laughing and said nono just kidding, come back between 2 and 3. He and his
Le tour HassanLe tour HassanLe tour Hassan

Begun by sultan Yacoub al-Mansour in 1195, he died after 4 years, so it was never finished. The Mosque was destroyed in 1755 by an erthquake
assistent were having a big fat laugh😊 Malian humor! Good start though, when I returned I paid him 200 Dirham and got my stamps, sorted!

Rabat has a very western feel, everybody speaks french, it is really a capital city: big lanes, very stretched and very friendly people. Met another very friendly old guy who I asked if it was ok to visit the mosque of the mausoleum, but he told me no, only when you convert young man to Islam😊 He was very curious about Holland, told him we were a royaume as well and he was very happy that we had a Morrocan maire Abouthaleb in Rotterdam nowadays and so am I actually! Wilders, you know who you are, go and visit this country and then shut the !*#k up! Salam!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Volibulis findVolibulis find
Volibulis find

Forgot who he was, but this head was found in Volibulis and is now displayed in the museum of Rabat.
SpicesSpices
Spices

Don't touch!


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb