You Have Just GOT to Visit the Tannery!!


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Medina ArchitectureMedina ArchitectureMedina Architecture

Typical of the doorways in the Medina
I thought I would brave the Souks again today to try and get some interesting photographs. That was reasonably successful, however I gave-up in the end as I got sick of the hassle, particularly when I was heading in the direction of the tannery. With no exaggeration, I must have had about 20 people offering to show me the way to the tannery. Well, actually I had 20 people actually taking me to the tannery regardless of anything that I said or did. Apparently every street that I tried to walk down that didn’t lead to the tannery was closed. In the end, it was a case of “I would have liked to have seen your sodding tannery, but it doesn’t seem worth the hassle”, so I made my way out of the Souks. I don’t know what it is about the tannery, but when you are walking in the opposite direction, you don’t get anything like the hassle.

When I got back, my wife and daughter wanted to do some shopping, so we walked all the way back again. We’re getting a bit more confident in the Souks now, less worried about losing direction and better able to say
Crazy BoysCrazy BoysCrazy Boys

Medina graffiti
“No!” We got some candles, some sort of hair oil (Argan Oil which is apparently very expensive back home) and some things to eat, as well as lots to consider when we come back for the last time tomorrow. Our daughter even got into the bartering and was enjoying herself trying to save us some money.

The schools had obviously finished when we headed back to the hotel, as our daughter had to run the gauntlet of all the boys again, and almost cause some motorbike crashes since the riders were distracted and not looking where they’re going.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

More Media ArchitectureMore Media Architecture
More Media Architecture

Another doorway, with a parked-up moped.
Medina WallsMedina Walls
Medina Walls

The walls bathed in the evening light.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb