A brief dip into the ether


Advertisement
Published: March 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

WaterfallsWaterfallsWaterfalls

Folks, trust me, I felt exactly as euphoric as I looked, for all the right reasons!
It seems that no self-respecting traveller should call their itinerary substantial unless it includes a stopover in Marrakech, regardless of their length of stay. Looking back over the past decade or so of holiday bookings, this trip easily stands out as one which I've always thought best fits the description of 'holiday bargain of the century', and a half board stay at a pristine 5-star hotel, plus flight, clocking in at less than £300 still suggests to me that there can be some huge rewards to be reaped by planning and booking trips as strategically as possible. In late June, the city was almost impossibly scorching, and bustling with life, and the sheer colour of the city alone floored me more than any other place visited up until that point in time. It is fair to suggest that Marrakech can be roughly divided into two areas, the (walled) area of the old city, comprising the medina, main square, number one structure (Koutoubia), and then the new town, also known as Gueliz, where you'll find a cluster of the city's most modern and dynamic developments. Armed with a sufficient knowledge of French, enough money in the local currency, and a desire to
AcrobatsAcrobatsAcrobats

Acrobatic displays at Jemaa El Fnaa, the main square in Marrakech - atmosphere!
combat the searing heat and get around the place as a pedestrian, I made extensive use of the hotel's terrific outdoor pool as a means of cooling off after such treks around the city which enabled me to familiarize myself with the urban area to the full extent of where my orientational skills would allow me to. A night out at a local fantasy show (Chez Ali) was an elaborate and enjoyable affair (yet more couscous and tagine!), an afternoon spent quad biking across the Palmeraie area with just the guide for company (a private tour, booked as a group session - result!), and a blindingly brilliant day out spent at the wonderful waterfalls of Ouzoud ensured that my slice of Moroccan pie was as tasty as I could ever have hope for. Of course, everyone else I have spoken to who has visited the place goes into raptures when they talk about it, even those lacking the sweet tooth required to enjoy their brand of mint tea. Diversity and exoticism go hand in hand, and the one compliments the other extremely well, and with the kind of mystical depth I had sought out in Marrakech, it's no great surprise
SoukSoukSouk

Colourful and creative handmade items for sale at a Moroccan souk
that I couldn't even resist those Moroccan fez hats to bring home as souvenirs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

GardensGardens
Gardens

Cacti abound at the Marjorelle gardens
ArchwaysArchways
Archways

Illusionary effect in a passageway in the souk in Marrakech


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb