End morocco


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Marrakech
November 18th 2009
Published: November 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nov 16
So I didn't sleep to well last night because I couldn't breath very well and it's so dry hear my mouth or nose would just dry out terribly.  Jay was really tired n wanting to sleep in but I coinvinced him to get up and go surf. We both were worried what the surf was gonna look like because it had been really windy by us all morning. We were having troubles getting a taxi n were thinking it was a sign not to go. Haha but we finally got one and managed to grab the bus right before it left. As we were walking to anchor point we had hopes, it didn't look big but realitively clean and only a few guys out. But by the time we walked all the way there there must have been 40 guys out. It was crazy. It wasn't even that good. We decided to suit up anyway and snag a few  waves, not to be cocky but we are usually the top guys in the water and can manage to get waves easily. So we went out for an hour and half or so. It was actually pretty fun we both got some good long rides. However the wind did pick up something fierce so we headed in. We went to have breaky at the resturant we were meeting Hugo at to sell jays board and suit. We had a soild breaky. Hugo's girl showed up and ate with us. Hugo was using the Internet to figure out if paypal would work but unfortunaltely it takes to many days to process it. So he paid him in mad. He had to get more money out so we hopped a taxi to banana village. Hugo paid for the taxi got money out paid jay and then we parted ways. Jay and I hopped the next bus back to agadir to shower up and pack and hit the bus station. 
The bus ride was a bit longer then we thought but they were nice enough and switched us onto a bus that had working AC so between that and having very few people on the bus it
made for the nicest ride yet. We stopped in some town and jay and I split half a chicken it was a bit dry but much needed. When we arrived to merakesh we asked one of the bus workers shot taxis to the part of town we wanted to go to. He had a friend that would take us it was a bit more than we smarted but we couldn't be bothered going out and haggling with people so we took it. 
After we checked into our dorm jay wantted me to try and pull the urchins out of his foot. I tried best I could but only got bits and pieces out. Then we walked around the center a bit.  There are so so so many people here and things going on. There is a huge food stall in the center square then all around it are shops of all sorts. Then inbetween the food stalls and shops there are tiny groups of musicians, magicians, snake charmers, dancer, vendors, ect. It's mayhem. We walked down one of the food stall streets and basically got attacked by the employees of each stall. It's was intense jay hated it. We decided to go with one on the end. We split a soup, sweet peppers, a meat tagine, and some meat skewers it was all pretty tasty. After dinner we both were pretty tired and not wanting to deal with the chaos we decided to head down a side street to have some almond juice which was quite tasty, some coffee and of course avacado juice. Delicious. Then we nicked off to bed. 

Nov 17
We woke realitively early had our free breaky then went out shopping. I won't reveal what I got but it was hard work bargining and searching for the right things. I hope I did well. It will sure weigh me down tomorrow but atleast were going home tomorrow and I don't have to lug them around like I did that hat in Vietnam. Hahaha love you mom. 
After shopping we had a snack a pastilla and some coffee. The pastilla was awesome it was a puffy pastry stuffed with eggs and chicken I think, then coated with powder sugar and cinamon it was delicious, a perfect blend of slaty and sweet. I want one before we leave. We sat in the cafe for a while and chatted. Then caught up on some intenet, jay ran around looking to find a place to exchange his MAD. After that we went to have some coffee and juices. We were just tryig to kill time before we head to the airport. 
Jay had the idea of hitting a hammam before we left. A last traditional thing to do. A hammam is a bath house where they scrub and massage you. Except all the ones near our hotel are very expensive. We found one in the LPG that said it was cheap so we hoofed to it. There was no offical sign just a home made piece of cardboard that had the name on it, it was dirty n sketchy looking.  We went in any way, took our shoes, shirts, ect, and stuffed everythng in this tiny locker then followed this guy through some massive door into a super hot steamy room and then into another. Where he filled a bucket with hot water then dumped it over the floor n motioned me to lie down. Jay followed suit.  As we were lying there we started talking prices and realized it was going to be way too much so we debated abit and then decided to leave, both wearig boardies half soaking wet now. We walked back to town wet n cold and decided to have the buffet at our hotel. Which actually was verry good.   
So I amlost wrote-off getting to the airport and flying home
 but something intresting happened last night. 
So we managed to catch the last bus to the airport. I joking but kind of serious said I hope it's open 24 hours, especially since royal air moroc basically has a monopoly on flights here. Anyway we rocked up to the airport and that thought crossed my mind again, "man I hope it stays open."  We walked in, found a sweet spot with a nice couch, and set up shop. We brushed our teeth and went off to bed. Jay on his airmatress and I on the couch. So about an hour goes by and a cop comes over and says to jay the airport is closing in 5 mins and we had to leave. FUCK sorry for swearing. I went to the info booth and asked the woman if the airport was open 24 hours to which she replied yes. I then asked can we stay here she said yes. So I went and told jay so we lied down and thought the guy was just being a dick. But 15 mins or so later he came by again telling us to leave. Jay told him the woman said we could stay so they walked over the the info booth and jay said the cop told the woman we had to leave. So I went over to complain to the woman and all she could say was he is the law. Or something lame. I asked some curreny exchange guys and they said it closes in a hour and opens at 4 so jay and I packed up and went outside. It was too late to get the bus back and a taxi would have been expensive we would have had to get one to town and back to the airport in a few hours. So we walked out looked around and saw some big bushes we could hide/sleep behind. We briskly walked across the parking lot and then through a small opening in the bushes. We'd walk a little then duck down, and then a little more till we got to a thick high bush.  Turns out they were rose bushes with thorns. We softly put our stuff down and sat there a while, silently listening to everything that was going on. I wasn't scared at first but then I started thinking if the guy who asked us to leave would shoot at us if he saw us lurking through the bushes.  I told jay I'll just sit here and he can sleep. But he coinvinced me to get my sleeping bag out and get some rest. So I ever so quitely pulled my bag out and blew up the pad. I crept into my bag and just sat there listening. Every time we heard a car go buy we'd hold our breath and hope we weren't about to get caught.  So sketchy.  We both had adrenline pumping. After 45 mins or so and most of the noise around us ceased I managed to sleep a bit. I woke up just before 4 am and noticed taxis going by so the airport must be open. Then I saw a security car.  It had it's lights on and it felt like forever before it past.  I decided it was time yo get jay up and sneak back in before we get caught. We lie there for a minute in Aww of what we just did. Well were 3/4 done let's get back inside and out of morocco.  A few taxis drive by. Then the security van drives by again. Jay and I froze looked at eachother wide eye holding our breadth.  Once I went past we could help but laugh. How crazy we are and what we were doing.   We took pictures of each other for proof of what just happened.  We packed up our stuff quietly. We ever so sneakily walked down the bush row stopping and ducking and checking for people along the way. Jay said it was like the scene from animal house when they we sneaking up the yard doing quirky moves along the way but in plain sight. Hahha We made it to the opening and just went for it, across the street and on the side walk then in the airport. Feewh we made it. Then we started quoting Superbad. " we fooled those cops we made it. I am Mcluvin" haha it was halarious. 
 We rearranged our bags and checked in. Then had some breaky while we waited for our flight. First stop brussles. 
I am Mcluvin hahah
craziest place I have ever slept so far. The rest of the flints were fine one was delayed a little but we had super long layovers so no biggie. We made it back to the states safely in one piece a litter wiser, more seasoned, and heppier.
  

Advertisement



Tot: 0.384s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.157s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb