SAT, 7 MAY 2022 – “Day 1: Marrakech, Morocco" --- Off and Running in Morocco


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2022
Edit Blog Post

TOUR 1 – Morocco Encompassed– 15 Days; Nomadic Tours; SAT, 7 MAY 2022 – SAT, 21 MAY 2022



My first accompanied, group tour is a 15-day trek that begins and ends in Marrakech, Morocco. This is the only tour that is the same tour as I had planned in 2020, with the exception that I had planned to pick up the full tour on Day 2 in Casablanca, Morocco. After the folks from Nomadic Tours had cancelled the tour and then learned of my isolated plight, they remained in contact with me to assure my welfare up until the time I reached London, England. Even though my tour money had been promptly refunded (vs. a ”voucher for future travel”), this “above and beyond” concern for my welfare during my crisis generated a sense of loyalty to <a name="_Hlk100488124"></a>Nomadic Tours that caused me to reinstate my business obligation to the company in 2022.

I might have overlooked the “moral obligation” I felt had it not been for the fact that I REALLY wanted to visit this unique part of the world. Morocco has intrigued me since the likes of the movie Casablanca and the television series Captain Gallant of the Foreign Legion starring Buster Crabbe (mid-1950s) and The Rat Patrol (mid-1960s). The “straw that broke the camel’s back” so to say, happens on Day 8 when the group travels into the Sahara Desert via a camel caravan to overnight in a Berber camp. Yes, I am keeping my expectations in check to avoid disappointment. The introduction from the tour provider, Nomadic Tours: “Morocco has so much to offer, and this 15-day adventure tour makes the most of it. Starting in Marrakech, travel north to the Atlantic coast and the cities of Rabat and Meknes, before heading over to beautiful Chefchaouen and the Roman ruins of Volubilis. Moving on to Fes with its incredible medina, the tour heads south again for a camel trek in the Sahara Desert and an overnight stay in an authentic Berber camp. Then, travelling west, visit the Todra Gorge, pass through the Atlas Mountains and wind up at Essaouira back on the Atlantic coast. Finally, arrive back in majestic Marrakech in time to explore and marvel at this incredible city.” I will be spending four nights in Marrakech after the tour concludes.

SAT, 7 MAY 2022 – “Day 1: Marrakech – Welcome to Morocco! Following your transfer from the airport to our joining hotel, you can relax by the hotel pool before the pre-departure meeting at 1800 hrs. where you will meet your guide and fellow travellers. Overnight Marrakech (Dinner included). Start point - 1800 Main Reception, El Andalous Hotel Marrakech, Av. du President Kennedy, Marrakech, Marrakech - Tensift - Al Haouz 40, Morocco“

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb