Parc National du Diawling


Advertisement
Mauritania's flag
Africa » Mauritania
March 5th 2024
Published: March 8th 2024
Edit Blog Post

My last day cycling south out of Mauritania was one of the best yet. Perfect weather. The landscape became more savanna-like. I stopped frequently as I saw birds I'd never seen before.

The last 50km to Diama was through the Parc National du Diawling. Greenery and birds everywhere. On the last day I added about 20 species to my Mauritania list. Normally that's what the first day in a country is like.

I'm still trying to work out what some of the birds were. I got at least six or seven lifers.

Not far into the park, I passed the first of several warning signs warning about the presence of warthogs. I didn't pay too much heed to them, that is until I actually saw one standing on the track. It stood and watched quietly as I slowly cycled past, quite nervous it has to be said!

"Not so bad after all," I thought. I revised that notion when I saw some bolt across the path well ahead of me. All was quiet again for a bit until I heard a lot of noise on the reeds to my left. I stopped. A second later, a warthog the size of an elephant, it looked that big to me anyway, broke cover and charged to the other side of the path. It passed about 5 to 10m ahead of me. I still had over 10km to go on this track! Definitely, beware of warthogs.

Just to calm the nerves, there was also a sign warning you not to go near the water due to the presence of crocodiles. I started singing "If you go down to the woods today..", and concentrated on avoiding potholes and the really badly corrugated sections.

I was glad to reach the Maison du Parc where I had to pay the 200 ouguiya entrance fee for transiting through the park. I got a receipt though, the first one in Mauritania.

From there it was not far to Diama where the border formalities where straight forward and I discovered there was a campsite only down the (sandy) road.

Now, sitting by the shore in Senegal and looking back, it was an adventure. For a while I was kinda wondering if I should be here at all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Warthog.Warthog.
Warthog.

I don't think they would actually attack, but they charge across the path like lightning, without a care fir what's coming. Could be messy!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb