Chizumulu & the Dog


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi
February 22nd 2011
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a quick breakfast (I didn't bring much food and turns out there isn't much to buy on the island), I decided I would go for a walk around the island, take in the scenery and maybe find the tiny store they can a shop. I walked along the coast, getting stares from the locals, taking pictures and just breathing in the beautiful lake, the massive baobab trees and the small local fishing boats.

I followed the coast and ended up sitting on some rocks right by the shore, just listening to the waves on the rocks and staring over the lake into the distance. I got up again and started heading around the side. I headed back along the path just thinking and taking in as much as possible. The next village I reached I could here hear dogs barking and kids playing. It was a fishing village so the beach was lined with boats & nets.

As I continued on the barking suddenly changed and got a lot louder and more aggressive. I think I knew what was going to happen before it did. They were barking and running at me (2 medium size khaki coloured dogs). My only thought was don't run but at the same time I felt paralysed to move. I braced myself for what was coming. I felt like the whole thing was in slow motion. Thank goodness it was a clean bite, but unfortunately it was bleeding.

Back at the backpackers the guys helped me clean it up. I looked up about dog bites and found that it should be scrubbed & cleaned and left open. I also needed to get a tetanus injection and the first of 5 rabies injections within 24 hours of the bite. I set off again (on my own again) to find the clinic which is on the other side of the island.

About half way I met a young guy who offered to help me get to the clinic. It was good to have him around because I jumped every time I saw/heard a dog. His name is Immanuel ('God is with us'😉. We chatted for awhile - his English wasn't too bad & it kept my mind off my leg. At the clinic I got cleaned again & given a tetanus injection. They didn't have rabies so I was told to take the first boat to Likoma the next day. I had until 12 to get the first injection.

After the clinic Immanuel walked around with me talking about the island and showed me some other villages before taking me back to the hostel. I thanked him and he left. My calf was quite sore and starting to bruise badly, so after having dinner with everyone I headed to bed. I was over Chizumulu.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb