At Long Last!


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Northern
April 7th 2011
Published: April 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well anyone who knows me will know I am nothing if not determined so, finally, through sheer persistance I am able to post my first blog of our trip to Malawi! We arrived in Lilongwe around 1pm on Tuesday and, as forecast, wrinkles were prominent alongside rather large bags under our eyes as I think, collectively, we had about 10 hours sleep between us on Monday night!

So we arrived at the Kiboko Hotel and the first thing we did is head to the bar to discuss our plans for the rest of the day! Luggage was abandoned in the rooms (but at least all the luggage got there!) but we were all sick of the sight of it by then. At this point I should mention we had already met Mike our driver and I tell not one word of a lie when I say he is probably the cutest Malawian I have ever met - shame he's only 25. So first night and off for a typical Malawian meal, pizza at Mamma Mia's, Lilongwe and, of course a couple of beers : ) We were all in bed at a fairly sensible time, this is another sign we are all 40+ however we knew we had a four hour drive to Embangweni next day, not a huge hardship if you get to sit in the front beside Mike! Four hours sounds like a huge nightmare but there is always plenty to keep you amused on the way, just people watching is great fun in Malawi and everyone you pass waves which keeps me amused for hours.

Anyway, we arrived in Embangweni around 3pm and the first thing we did, yes, you've guessed it, a nice gin on the verandah, just to wash the dust away you understand. Dinner in the guesthouse (chicken, rice, pumpkin leaves, bananas), you will soon begin to see a pattern emerging here when I tell you about the food in fact I won't tell you again becuase it will be the same thing every night just in different locations!

Finally I get to today where we spent a lot of time visiting all the local people we need to see. The problem with Malawi is that you need to visit everyone because if you miss anyone out they get highly offended, this all after getting up at the crack of dawn (literally) so we could be at the Primary school at 7am to watch their Assembly! We all went to various classes to observe their lessons by which time we had all seen at least 20 children we want to adopt, they are just the cutest children in the whole world : )

As I write this there is the worst thunder storm ever raging outside but we're hoping that means more sunshine tomorrow when I will try to get back online for a further update. Everyone is well and don't worry Vermaas girls, your mum hasn't even finished her first bottle of Pernod yet!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb