Madagascar-Fun Finale: Dutchy and I travel


Advertisement
Madagascar's flag
Africa » Madagascar
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I should start by explaining that Dutchy is really called Marchien, and as you might guess she is from Holland. Marchien and I worked together on Manta Camp and like me she had some time left on her visa. So going sightseeing together seemed the right thing to do.

After some not so studious planning, largely a lot of drinking and talking, we decided that’d we'd like to travel south of Tana, heading overland to Tulear and Ifaty on the SW tip of the island.

Being the intrepid explorers we are, we packed our bags and, needless to say after 6 months, I had more kit than space. So I consigned some of my undies, which were seriously looking like x-large windsocks, to the bin. Donated my particularly sorry looking clothes to the village and persuaded Joe, one of our students, to take my dive kit back to the UK for me. Finally, I squeezed my rucksack shut on my worldly possessions and we were off. We hopped on a plane to Tana and landed a few hours later looking like 2 startled bunnies who had just discovered civilization.

Fortunately, my travels with the “Boys” had me fluent in French. Well, now at least I could say “we go there, how much cost?” and with some serious arm waving, pointing and laborious counting, negotiate a price. Then I discovered Dutchy spoke French and was let off the hook for the rest of our travels!

So off we go, heading south by whatever local transport we could find. Mostly aging Taxi Brousses. All of which were of varying degrees of reliability and none of which would pass an MOT. On our way we had some near death experiences, largely entailing hurtling around blind corners on the wrong side of the road. 25+ people in a mini bus built for 15. 12hr journeys that had us predominantly sitting on the side of the road whilst the driver attacked the engine/gearbox/axle etc.. with a hammer. An overnight trip which has been expunged from my memory, as it was such hell and the finale, the back up of a pick up truck with about 20 hot sweaty bodies and stinking fish! Along the way, somewhere just south of Tana, we were joined by a fellow traveler, Claudia, and were delighted to be able to share these wonderful experiences with her!

In amongst these unforgettable journeys, we visited some amazing places. We saw more lemurs than I could have possibly possibly imagined. Traveled for 11 hours on the only working passenger train in Madagascar. Walked and camped in Ramanofira and Isalo National Parks, seeing stunning wildlife, canyons and waterfalls. We saw some amazing sunsets over the Mozambique channel. Drank the worlds cheapest cocktails; and plenty of them! And finally ate stunning food; mind you after a diet of beans and rice everything was tasting good.

In all, we spent 11 days on our travels. Not nearly long enough to see and do everything we wanted. But with good company, not so good wine; but plenty of the cheap cocktails, what a time we had.

What more can I say, other than, Madagascar has to be one of the most beautiful countries I have ever visited. The variety of scenery from north to south is amazing, the flora, fauna and people are unique. I would recommend visiting to everybody.

So Madagascar came to an end. And it was time for me to head off into the wide yonder of mainland affrica on my own. Next stop Nairobi!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



4th July 2007

End of one adventure and start of an another
I've very much enjoyed reading all your adventures in Madagascar, the descriptions of which have been very funny at times! Now looking forward to hearing tales of Nairobi.

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb