Madagascar - Work Travels


Advertisement
Madagascar's flag
Africa » Madagascar
February 10th 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I can safely say, that I well and truly landed on my feet with this little jaunt. As luck would have it, not long after I had decided to come back to Madgascar, I got an e-mail from the boss asking if I fancied doing something different for 3 weeks. The different being accompanying a group of 5 University students around Madagascar. This was an expedition the group were undertaking as part of their degree and I was to go along to be a responsible adult!!! Never one to look a gift horse in the mouth, and what else could an all expenses paid bit of travelling be called, I lept at the chance. This is the tale of my travels.

The journey began the day before the students even arrived in country, Stu, one of my work colleagues, and I head for Tana, already sporting serious hangovers from a night of playing pool in Diego Saurez. Stopping for a late lunch in a hotel bar Stu knew we forget thez food and somehow the lunch ended up being of the liquid variety. We were eventually evicted for the bar, which quite miraculously turned into a prostitute haunt after dark. We then headed off to a Kareoke bar; why is completely beyond me, as I have never willingly sung in public. But now I consider my self somawhat of a kareoke diva. I sang not only in English but also Malagasy, which considering I dont speak a word beyond hello and thankyou, was a minor miracle. So with the students arriving at 5 in the morning, Stu and I toddled off to bed; well maybe staggered. Thus the scene is set for the next 3 weeks.

The "boys" ( Bear, Cleggy, James, Ollie and Nathan) are all studying Adventure Tourism at Birmingham College, this expedition had been a year in the planning and was the final part of their degree. So they arrive, itinerary in hand, and I'm there to make sure all goes well and, as boys will be boys, they don't do anything too stupid.

That afternoon had us in our first Taxi Brousse; a vehicle which can be anything from a pick-up truck to a mini bus, but all of which are packed to the gunnels with humans, food and if your lucky the occasional goat, duck or chicken. heading off for a town called Moramanga


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

ArnieArnie
Arnie

New Camp Security Dog!!!


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb