A day with the grandmothers


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province
February 19th 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009

We rested up after an afternoon (yesterday) in vain searching for a bank that would exchange traveller's cheques in Kisumu -- a 2-hour drive from Bumala. At least my mother was able to buy some inexpensive but good quality blankets. She purchased 20 blankets for the grandmothers we were set to meet during our second ever Beatrice walk. This walk was initiated last year when a friend of Todd's from the US asked that we give 1000 shillings (about $15CAD) to 10 grandmothers of the children attending the school. Receiving an unexpected and significant amount of money (by Kenyan standards) can really boost the family to a different level of existence. This, I came to learn on the second Breatrice project visit...

I had 1000Shillings for 14 grandmothers this time around. So we visited the home of all the grandmothers who received the money last year, as well as four new grandmothers. This would have required over 20 km of walking, so we ended up hiring a taxi -- a bike taxi that is! So off we went, Josephine, Charles, Pius, myself, and my mother on our repsective bike taxis -- a cushy seat on the back of a bike with extra handlebars to keep your balance. Lucky for this because we had a lot of work ahead of us.

I won't go into the details of each visit, though Charles insisted that each and every grandmother be videotaped while discussing her plight, her successes, her challenges raising forgotten grandchildren... Several grandmothers had success stories to share. One grandmother specifically was able to start a small business in basket weaving which now seems to yield a steadier income than previously. Another grandmother was able to add an extension to her home, adding about 4 feet of extra space to house her grandchildren. There were, however, less fortunate grandmothers who had to rely on the money received last visit on basic necessities as food, and therefore did not feel any further ahead today than they did a year ago. Even more regretful is that this is how the new money received will also have to be spent. One grandmother stands out for me the most is that of a young boy Ochieng (I am most certain that I haven't spelled his name correctly). His grandmother takes care of him and 8 other grandchildren. Charles tells us that the male figure of the household has a mental illness and is therefore unable to support the family. Ochieng has now become the main bread winner of the family. He can't be more than ten years old. He makes money on the weekends pushing carts for people. What struck me, beyond the obvious, is that this is a boy that I clearly remember from my last visit. I remember him because once I got my photos printed after the trip, I noticed that he had made his way into almost every single picture I had taken of the children. He had such a presence with a big smile. I guess it hadn't dawned on me that he was undergoing such hardships.

Hardships aside, I am beyond myself with gratitute and awe of the villagers' generosity during our visits. Nearly every grandmother in turn gave us either a woven basket or hand bag, a stalk of bananas or other fruit, or a chicken -- 6 to be exact. Simply incredible. We learn that this is the way of the people. If they receive, they must give something back as a thank you. So the school's chicken coup has grown yet again.

A new twist to the Beatrice project this time was that my mother provided each grandmother with a small sewing kit with thread, wool, darning and regualr needles, and a couple of match boxes. Charles explained to them that it was to mend the children's school uniform so that they last longer. This seemed to be a hit with the grandmothers! We also informed them that there was a blanket (or two) waiting for them at the school to be picked up, along with clothing for the children that we had brought from Canada.

Well, five hours later we made it back to the school. To our surprise, there they were. All 14 grandmothers were lined up alongside the school ready to pick up the blankets and clothes. We quickly went into the storage room of the new kitchen where we created piles of clothing arranged by size. Then, one by one, the grandmothers were called in to receive the items. Some grnadmothers were beside themselves with happiness, letting out a shrieking ulule or breakingout into a small dance. It was wonderfull to see. But deep down, that night as we lie awake in bed, both my mom and I knew that it was not enough...

Cristelle



Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb