On Safari !!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Masai Mara NP
February 27th 2011
Published: March 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning we were up at 6am getting ready to go on safari. We arrived at the airport early so some of us killed the extra time shopping at the gift shop. Grandma Mavis, you will be so proud, as I was able to find myself a beautiful African inspired Moo Moo. I have a feeling I will be sporting it for the rest of the trip. We had about an hour and a half to kill till our flight left so we were able to catch up on the world news as we were all huddled around the television in the waiting room.
We finally boarded our little 20 seater plane for the 45 minute flight out to the Maasai Mara resort. We landed in the middle of the Serengeti where we met a couple of jeeps that would take us to the resort. Kristina and I were not fans of the flight.
I cannot begin to explain where we are. The resort is located on the top of a small mountain so wherever you are you are looking down onto herds of elephants, giraffes, zebra’s and 20 different types of antelope. It is amazing. As I sit here, I look out where there are a herd of elephants at the base of the hill and a lone giraffe.
Nothing can touch this place. Pictures of the most beautiful resorts with crystal blue water is like a picture of the Holiday Inn in comparison to being here. The rooms are individual Maasai inspired huts but in the luxury version. We have just finished our 6 course buffet style lunch. You haven’t experienced anything until you have experienced Safari.
I will be honest, I was a little nervous to do the Safari. After what we experienced at the schools and being in Bumala I was worried that it would be over the top touristy here. Once you have experienced the raw and honest Africa, how could you go and eat these huge meals and sit poolside with Tusker in hand and truly enjoy it? Yes, it is of course a tourist destination but you are really experiencing a different side of Africa. Aside from the glamorous exterior, you are seeing Africa in the wild. There really isn’t a more perfect place to be while trying to process everything from the past week. Today is the first day since we have left Canada that I can sit in nature and really take it all in and enjoy the peace and quiet. You aren't looking at your surroundings and process the starving children laughing so hard because you are blowing bubbles for them. Although, I couldn't fully enjoy and respect this place as much as I do without blowing the bubbles either.
Well we have about an hour till our first drive in the jeeps. I can't even imagine what it will be like considering how spectacular this place has already become in the few short hours we have been here.
I suppose I will spend my time waiting by changing into my new Moo Moo and go sit by the pool...


Advertisement



31st March 2011

Kenya-Maasai
Great post! I agree, the real Africa is totally different than the tourist Africa. I actually went on tour with this company - http://www.bigfive.com/navigator-series/1/kenya.html and got to meet the Maasai people, i will never forget them.

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb