Naivasha.... and the Livings Easy! Sublime times!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Lake Naivasha
June 10th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh boy! Would you look at the time? Well I sure as hell haven’t, and I threw out my watch a long time ago (well actually just put it away till I have to bring it out again so that I don’t miss another flight….) A long time has passed and I am still here in Kenya! Living the sweet life, I must add, as it is not ever day I get to walk with giraffe and wildebeest, impala zebra and waterbuck, but it is every day here! I left the densely populated Kisii highlands and, as beautiful as they were, sighed a breath of relief as I boarded my last matatu (minibus filled to the rim with big mammas, kids and chickens) to head back towards the Rift Valley and the splendor of farm life on the shore of south Lake Naivasha. I have cheated on Jamaica and I have to admit that I do not feel guilty one bit for my long love affair with the way of life out here. There is something quite intoxicating about the sheer enjoyment of life these people have and their ability to welcome into their wildly quaint community such strangers as I and to extend much more than a few drinks in welcome. It is true that I have walked away from the last few weekend lunches (synonymous with an all day into night drink you out of house and home fiesta) with quite a slur and maybe a bit of a wobble, but I have made friends, business partners and maybe even a few husbands, who I know will welcome me on my return! …. (as long as I liquor them up again😉 Yes, I am leaving Kenya without fear that I will not see it again especially seeing as if I return in exactly one year of Chetna’s Curry dinner at Drifters I will win a bet and receive half a million Kenya schillings! Enough to pay for my ticket out and rent and boos for the first couple of years! And then if that isn’t good enough, next week produced a ripe business deal right up my ally and I shall be able to build and run a restaurant with bungalows and what ever my heart desires so that I can share my Jamaican rum and jerk to the jolly South Lakers who will take to it like bread and butter! Oh yes I have taken to life here like bread and butter myself and I do not let small mishaps with hippos deter me. Oh no, I have way too much to do and think about and find myself very busy in deed each day. Although for some reason when it comes to the end of the week, and those lovely lunches, and some one caringly asks how my week went and what I did I can’t seem to follow up my immediate praise of the week with anything much more than a not to sure shrug of what exactly I did!

So now, to answer the question I am sure you are all asking me through this computer or laptop or really fancy phone on which you are reading my banter, I will so politely ask you to just let the photos do all the talking, or writing, telling or whatever. And please note the captions as they inform you of all that the photos jog of my memory.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Chetnas Bug!Chetnas Bug!
Chetnas Bug!

Isnt this a sight! Great little car to romp around Kenya with eh? Chetna gets mad props for winning the races as well!
Cute eh?Cute eh?
Cute eh?

The mother-in-law seat, something that I am sure should still be installed in cars today. Arent these boys the cutest, there are 4, Sheila rocks for popping them all out and keeping them out of elephant butts!
Breakfast BalconyBreakfast Balcony
Breakfast Balcony

Where I sat every morning and afternoon and evening. You can see the zebra come up at lunch every day to get water, sometimes you spot a few monkeys and the impala are always hanging around.
Sunset.... every evening!Sunset.... every evening!
Sunset.... every evening!

On that balcony, with a cold tusker and some old tunes spinning away on the record player, giraffe having an evening munch.... why would you leave?
Great little cottage...Great little cottage...
Great little cottage...

forgot to take a picture of mine but I LOVE this one which John built for his son Colm. I swear he had smoked some Jamaican herb when thinking this one up.
My friend QuinnyMy friend Quinny
My friend Quinny

About the closest person to my age... haha!
Rhino!!!!Rhino!!!!
Rhino!!!!

Private tour of Oserian game reserve compliments of Sean Finleyson (father of the kids!) I have lots of photos of all the animals but not at the moment!
I LOVE these people!I LOVE these people!
I LOVE these people!

Jayesh and Chetna... party people! You cannot not have a drink when with Jayesh, which was a lot of the time, and Chetna will make the BEST indian food EVER, and Im writing this while in India... and she made me the BEST carrot cake to have all to myself! And I get another when when I return.
Party People!Party People!
Party People!

YEs! I gotta picture of John not sticking his toungue out, i kick ass... this "Lunch" party turned into an all night dance fest to elvis and dolly parton!
Matumba ShoppingMatumba Shopping
Matumba Shopping

Ever wonder where those church clothes drives goods ends up, here so that I can buy fleeces for 40 cents. Thank god.
Jaws!!!!!Jaws!!!!!
Jaws!!!!!

This fucker... (not exactly this one but who cares) tried to chomp on me and Johnny after I kinda drove the boat over his butt, a relatively large target i might add.
Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home

My Kenya home that will never be forgotten! Chepirelway Farms you live on in my heart! I will return some day!


10th July 2007

We are so proud of you Tessa - I cried (mummy) reading your last Kisi blog and seeing all those children..... beautifully written and very moving. Thank God for SKYPE so we can keep in touch and live vicariously!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb