I'm here


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
May 30th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Kenya less than 24 hours now and things are going well.

Everything went very smoothly with my flights, at the airports, and with Kenyan customs. All of my flights were on time and while the flights were very long, they were bearable. I actually had an empty seat next to me on the second flight, so that was really nice. And an interesting note, not only do the British (and Kenyans) drive on the left side of the road, but I noticed that they walk on the left side as well, at least most do in Heathrow Airport. Also, the visa process was very smooth, they did not even ask to see my yellow fever vaccination card, and I was through the visa line in about five minutes.

In Nairobi, things have been fairly good too. As I was passing things at night, it seemed fairly modern, and it is for the most part. There are slummy areas, many street vendors, and crazy driving, but it hasn't been an extreme culture shock. In fact, city life has probably been as much of a culture shock to me as the living in a third world has been. There are just so many people and if you are downtown things just seem crazy and haphazard. There are no street lights at intersections and just crossing the street can be an adventure. I think I pretty much get to decide where I'd like to volunteer, but I haven't decided if I'd rather volunteer in Naiobi or in a smaller town like Limaru. The perks of the city are running hot water, real toilets, and electricity, but the faced pace life and having to catch buses or nagutus (word for van filled with people that acts like a taxi and drives very carelessly, but I don't remember if I have the right word) and such make living in the city less desirable. But, it does look like I might have the opportunity to teach business on the high school level wherever I volunteer, so that could be very enjoyable and worthwhile.

I've also got to meet many other volunteers. I stayed with about 7 others in the same homestay last night. They are easy to get along with, and its nice to be able to share your concerns and ask your questions to another westerner. We are shopping and spending time in downtown Nairobi now, which as I said earlier is very crowded and hectic, but maybe it will just take a little bit to get used to.

Well, I think my time is up. Hopefully next time when I write, I will have some pictures to share as well.

Advertisement



30th May 2006

I am glad you made it safely. Keep us updated, BC! And, I hope you pick the city :)
31st May 2006

Brandon--It's great to read about your adventures thus far. To read about the congestive city, crazy drivers and crossing the streets immediately takes me back to my time in Egypt. Friend, you are in my thoughts and prayers as you continue to adjust to Kenyan life for the next two months. Value the relationships that you build with the nationals, even if they can be awkward and frustrating in the beginning. There is always excitement and wonder to be found in other cultures. Looking forward to your next post! Jenna
31st May 2006

Hey Brandon - Your trip sounds so amazing and I am thankful that you made it to Kenya safely. Know that you will be in my prayers over the next few months. I pray that this will be a rewarding and growing experience for you and despite all the challenges and hardships, you will draw near to your Father. I look forward to hearing about your journey and seeing pictures!! Blessings in Him -
3rd June 2006

Best of Luck
I enjoyed your comments about the Cubs game. Glad you are a true Cubs fan. Your Grandpa Holderead was a Cubs fan his whole life and they never won the Series during his 85 years on earth. Mart has carried on the tradition and is now 64 - don't tell her I told you her age. Hopefully the Cubs will win at least in your lifetime. I have been a Tribe fan for the past 15 years and their history of frustration is next in line behind the Cubs. I know you will have a great life experience in Kenya and hopefully get a chance to teach the people there half as much as they teach you and the same with the benefits of the time you spend there. You may want to give the city a try. I love the fast pace of the biggest cities and enjoy taking public transportation, albeit a vastly different experience in the large cities of America in comparison to Nairobi. I am now doing some part-time mental health crisis work with the seriously mentally ill: many of whom are often suicidal. It's rewarding work. I'm sure you will feel the same about your work in Kenya. Giving back to those in need is the best worrk there is in my book. Take care of yourself and have a great experience. Uncle Bruce
3rd June 2006

Keep'em Coming
Your blogs really have been interesting. Glad you are doing OK. Have made copies of your notes for Grandma Great. Hope you can keep busy. When will you start teaching? You are in our prayers. Grandma
12th June 2006

I miss you BC! You are seriously in all my prayers i pray --i noticed to my horror my message didn't show up the first time (from last week!) but i'm seriously missing my roomate! Make sure you stay safe-- "Stay safe, Stay pure, and don't let your less spirtual friends talk you into anything you know you shouldn't." We love you and thanks so much for all your help in the wedding and your lovely comments on the car--i can wear my boxers proudly now (wink). Keep us updated on your status so we can pray specifically for your circumstances--and stay true! Graden misses you
13th June 2006

More Adventures
It's so exciting to see new places, meet new people and experience a new culture. This Sunday our seminary student, his wife who is a nurse and their friends told about their experiences in Zambia helping the very poor people there in a clinic and an orphanage. We need those reminders of how good we have it and to help us realize how much we complain for no good reason. We saw people living in abject poverty who maintain a positive attitude about life and are so thankful for every little gift that they receive. I know you are doing good things in Kenya and the people there really do appreciate everything you do for them, while they are doing as much or more for you. This is an experience you will carry with you even when you are old and gray like your aunts Mary and Mart - not me of course - and it will be life changing in a very positive way. Have fun, take in every encounter using all of your senses to their fullest and take away all you can from the wonderful people there. Keep us posted on your adventures, including the pictures. I am enjoying the stories, the pictures and living vicariously through both. Uncle Bruce

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb